Chicken Oreganato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Kinda bland. For the amount of fat in this recipe (from the thighs & all the oil), I expected it to be tastier. I thought it was ok, but not worth all the oil (that gets wasted in the bottom of the pan anyway). My kids would only eat it once it was drowned in ketsup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Oh this was really good. And really easy. I made it twice and both times added a touch of garlic powder with the oregano. There wasn't really a taste of garlic, so perhaps I should have left it out. Also, I just poured the liquid over it and baked it, turning once in the oven. Soo good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Nice flavor! I rarely cook with any chicken except BSCB. Not by choice, but necessity. I bought six mark-down Smart Chicken legs (two pounds) and used this recipe to prepare them. The only other sub was bottled lemon juice, as I didn't have any fresh lemons. I mixed two teaspoons oregano, one teaspoon coarse sea salt, and one-half teaspoon pepper then kinda rolled the legs in the mixture, but I had to mix another batch of the spices to finish. Be sure to cook skin side down during the first fifteen minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This is a huge quick and easy recipe for me. I make this at least once a month. I did follow a posters recommendation to bake skin side down first, then flip to crisp the skin toward the end. One thing I did add was McCormick Rotisserie Seasoning to it. My husband doesn't like to be overloaded with citrus flavor, so that helps to give it another layer of season. Instead of rubbing it on the chicken, I mixed everything in the olive oil and used a basting brush to brush it on. We do drizzle the remaining oil on during cooking, to give it that extra bit of flavor. It's a big hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dickson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I have used this many times as a quick and easy but very tasty meal when having company short notice. I love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Waterford, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Simple, easy and flavorful! As a college student on a budget it really did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shakirah Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I opted to broil on high for 2 minutes and low for about 6 minutes to help crisp the skin (our chicken thighs were untrimmed). Really great flavor, and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
if you follow the cooking times, your chicken will be done, however the skin will be white. If you like it more brown and done on the outside, cook the second side for 25 minutes, and then broil for another 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I thought this came out good. I used lemon juice and put enough on it to where you could taste the hint of lemon. But my husband was not satisfied with it. He didn't like it and does not recommend that I make this dish again. Sorry maybe will make again when his not home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I really liked this and the b/f did also. We will make it again. Sorry about how small they look in the photo but I did boneless ones. Thank you for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Oven-Fried Chicken III

With or without the skin, this oven-fried chicken always bakes up moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States