Chicken Noodle Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
This is delicious. I made one change which really improved the flavor. Instead of using chicken bouillon cube, use 1 teaspoon of Maggi chicken flavoring. Maggi comes in granules or cubes and after you use it you will never go back to regular bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This was SO good! as the vegetables were simmering,I cooked the chicken in water with extra carrots and celery(to make my own stock)I removed the chicken and chopped it up.Meanwhile,I just poured the home made stock into the simmering vegetables,WOW! that added all the flavor it needed! I also added a generous amount of seasoning salt and pepper.My noodles looked funny,but they were delicious and easy to make! This is the perfect recipe for a cold rainy day! 5 STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
I didn't make the noodles but I did make the soup and it was very very good. I scaled it to 12 servings. I made it in my crock pot, not on the stove top. I added rosemary to the recipe and more garlic than suggested. Also, instead of making the noodles I threw in some pasta during the last 45 minutes of cooking and the noodles were fine. This is a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This is a good chicken soup recipe, although for the time involved I think it should have been better. The time is this recipe's only shortcoming, I think. Other than that, I would recommend making your own stock (I cooked 2 large chicken breast halves with some celery, carrot, salt, and pepper --simmer for 40 minutes, remove chicken, simmer 20 mintues more, strain. Be sure to skim while simmering. The chicken I then shredded to use in the recipe). Using the resulting stock, plus 2 cans of chicken stock and about 2 more cups of water made a nice soup base, not too salty or greasy, as I feel canned stock alone can sometimes be. I also found that I had to add about 4 more cups of water while the soup was cooking in order to keep the water level up. If you like chewy noodles,(not necessarily a bad thing) then go ahead and roll out to the suggested 1/8 inch thick, but if you don't like to have to cut your noodles when eating soup, then make the noodles paper thin when rolling out. I also added different spices which I think really added flavor--a touch of ground ginger (maybe 1/2 teaspoon) plus 4 teaspoons of Old World Seasoning blend by Penzey's Spices. This in particular was a great addition! Overall, try this soup, especially if it's a cold, dreary day and you have nothing better to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This makes the best noodles I've ever had. I've made them several times and they are even better when cut into dumplings. This is truly a treasure of a recipe. Everyone who tries it asks how I get such lovely dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This is so good...perfect for someone needing a little comfort. I made my own chicken broth seasoned with poultry seasoning and parsley, and simmered the chicken breast for about 30 minutes. I omitted the corn as I'm not a big fan of it. I cut my noodles in dumpling squares rather than strips. Thanks LaDonna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was really good chicken noodle soup! We loved the noodles....I've been searching for the perfect noodle recipe, and I've found it! It could also be used for flat dumplings....just roll out thicker and don't dry...YUM! I made my own broth (boiled a whole 5.5 lb chicken not cut up) and this soup had delicious flavor! I left out the corn, but added about a cup of frozen peas and 2 med potatoes diced. My husband never eats soups and he loved this. (he prefers thicker stews) Thanks for the recipe! It's a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
This is great for a cold gloomy day. I love home made noodles! My only change was to leave out the corn, I just don't think it goes in chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This is a great chicken soup recipe. The best part are the noodles. I was skeptical at first when I saw the ingredients, but they are excellant! Instead of prepared cooked chicken, I used chicken breast on the bone for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
Delicious!! Easier than I thought it would be. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States