Chicken Noodle Salad with Peanut-Ginger Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
The flavor of the dressing in this recipe is just delicious! I did have to make small adjustments based on what I had on hand - no garlic-chili sauce so I just used 2 cloves of garlic and a tiny bit more red pepper flakes, warm water in place of the chicken broth and no salt, as the soy sauce added enough saltiness for my tastes. I added about 1/2 tsp. toasted sesame oil and omitted the chicken (will add some leftover from tomorrow night's dinner) and added broccoli and snow peas. A squeeze of lime and this is a perfectly seasoned dish - my only problem is the amount of dressing. I only used half the pasta (whole wheat) since I wanted more veggies, and I feel it could use just a little more of this yummy sauce. Next time I will increase that part of the recipe by half and this dish will be perfection in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Tasty and easy to prepare, this dish reminded us of our favorite Thai restaurant's peanut dressing. I added fresh minced garlic and Thai sweet red chili sauce to the recipe since I did not have garlic-chili sauce. You don't need a food processor for this recipe if you simply warm the soy sauce and chicken broth in the microwave first, which helps to melt the peanut butter. Just whisk them together until smooth. You can therefore make the sauce right in the serving bowl, making clean-up so much faster! I also added some stir-fried broccoli to this dish and next time I might also try water chesnuts for added crunch. Delicious. A definite make-again--next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lazar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Hello everyone! I loved this recipe. I have to be honest though...when I first read the directions I was so excited to make it for my hubby! But when I started to mix it all together I had second thoughts. Turns out at the end it was excellent. My husband and I enjoyed it he even had a 2nd helping. I'm proud to be the first to rate this delicious recipe. BUT I DID MAKE SOME CHANGES sorry... I didn't change anything as far as the ingredients and how much you use. However rather than just pouring the sauce over the cooked chicken and pasta at the very end i cook the chicken then add the veggies until they soften just a little, then i add the sauce i made in the blender. I let the sauce cook for maybee a minute or so and then pour over the noodles. Also I don't add the cilantro till the very end. It looses flavor if you cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This recipe is delicious. As many others have mentioned, it is important to double the dressing. If you didn't double the dressing it would be too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Wow - this is really good. My husband really likes spicy so I upped the chili garlic paste. I doubled the sauce the second time I made this just because he loved it so much and I had added additional veggies. Water chestnuts, more celery, red bell pepper and cucumbers. This salad is perfect for pot lucks or picnics - it is awesome at room temp. Add more broth to the sauce to acheive your desired thickness. If you have a stick blender - use it for the sauce, it blends it in a snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Great tasting recipe! Number of servings overestimated and I'd say could use a little more dressing (I put some water in to make it go further). Still, I've had this a few times now and will continue to make it. It's also so convenient since it can be eaten hot or at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Wonderfully flavorful. A different option that will spice up your routine, but that even the pickiest eaters at your table will have fun with. My kids LOVED it. One change: rather than using canned chicken broth, I saved the water I boiled the chicken in and used that. Healthier and cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I love to make Oriental dishes and my husband said by far the best I have ever made! It was delicious! Instead of fresh veggies, I used a frozen Asian blend with sugar snaps, red peppers, little corn, edamame, and water chestnuts. I sauteed for a few minutes then threw it all together and mixed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
O-M-G This is the most awesome sauce!! I made it just like the recipe the first time and now I make the sauce and keep it in the fridge to slather on everything. It is addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was delicious! I recommend letting the flavors combine for a few hours before serving. This was one of those dishes that was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgwwhite

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States