Chicken Noodle Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I added several items because as written looks a little bland. I added a couple of cloves of garlic, 2 stalks of finely diced celery, and 1/2 of a small onion, also finely diced. I also added about 1/2 tsp. of thyme, and about 1/2 bag of frozen mixed vegetables. I increased the cooking time to about 45-50 minutes, so that the added vegetables would get cooked. The last thing I changed was I added about 3/4 can of milk to the soup mixture to give it a little moisture so it wouldn't dry out. Am giving it 5 stars based on these adjustments. Tasted great and will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1425 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This was incredible! I couldn't help but tweak it a little since there was such great opportunity for flavor enhancement. I sprinkled the chicken w/ kosher salt & fresh grnd pepper and spinach & herb seasoning that I get from Tastefully Simple...but you could use any herbs you like. Then I browned it over fairly high heat in butter and olive oil, removed the chicken and set aside. Added about 1/2 cup chicken broth to the pan and scraped up all those yummy bits, then added the chicken back to the pan and covered & cooked till done. Remove chicken and reduce broth by half (1/4 cup). I cooked the noodles in water and the remaining chicken broth from the can, drained & added the cut chicken to the noodles. Mixed cr. of chicken w/ herbs soup & mush soup w/ sour cream & added the reduction. Mixed that w/ a little more herb seasoning. Added chicken & noodles & combined well. Topped w/ shredded chedder and cracker crumb mixture. WOW! My husband ate 3/4 of the casserole and my children LOVED it! A definate add to the rotation! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
672 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
This casserole is wonderful! The only thing different I did was add a little chopped broccoli. Definately a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
502 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Ok, there are so many good reviews on this, but everyone is adding to it or changing the recipe. I made it as is, thought it was kind of bland, so did the rest of my family. Also, 4 chicken breasts seems like a lot for a fairly small casserole? Sorry, just wasn't worth all the work to get it in the oven. Everyone needs to make the recipes as is and rate them that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dulike26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This is a new favorite for us! It is easy to throw together on a weeknight, and it's a hit with everyone in my family, including my picky pre-teen. I have made this both the "fattening" way, and using the lower-fat soups & sour cream, and either way it comes out delicious. (My husband actually preferred the flavor of the lower-fat version!) The only thing I usually add is a small can or two of mushrooms, or maybe some peas. I have also substituted regular bread-crumbs for the topping with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I used to write review's for a living. When writing a review you write it for the recipe "as is", not doctored up. without adding many extra flavor enhancers, this recipe is bland and boring. Tell it like it is people, you’re not rating "your" version, you should be rating the one as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Awesome Recipe! A few alterations I made: I addded 1/2 pkg Mixed Veggie (frozen) and 1/2 bag frozen broccoli and 1/2 bag of frozen Onions & Bell Peppers (seasoned Blend) that I cooked along with the pasta. btw-I also put minced dry garlic, Italian Seanings,and Garlic-Salt-Pepper in the water when I boiled the chicken and then used that same water to cook the veggies and pasta. I didn't measure it, just dumped some in the water to taste. It worked out very well! BUT THE BEST ITEM--I had no ritz crackers, but I did have one package of the Parmesan Crusted Shake N Bake and a little over one cup of plain breadcrumbs that I mixed together and used instead of the crackers and butter. It was incredible!!! That Shake and Bake/Bread Crumb mixture gave it a little extra oomph...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Yummy! Even better the next day. I read the reviews here and made some modifications: sauteed diced carrots and celery with the onions, added a whole large can of mushrooms, cut the butter to 1/2 and increased the cracker crumbs to 1 1/2 cups. I cooked it in my pampered chef lasagna pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
I have made this recipe twice. I add some sauteed onions and garlic powder and use about 12oz of egg noodles. This is a very flavorful casserole and the leftovers are yummy too! This will be a terrific meal to take in frozen form for a new mom, etc. Great family food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This was very creamy and good! Because my BF doesn't like 'shrooms, I left out the mushroom soup and used 2 cans cream of chicken. To save some fat and calories, I used FF sour cream and sprinkled seasoned bread crumbs on top instead of the crackers and butter. But I think it would be fine without any sort of topping. The casserole definitely needs a veg added though. My BF said it tasted similar to chicken alfredo and suggested adding broccoli next time, which I think is a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States