Chicken Noodle Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Had some chicken in the freezer I intended to use to make some Indian food, but I needed something I could cook for my spice adverse parents, so I opted for this. They raved about it. I liked it. I made it as is, except I used three chicken breasts instead of four, because as I was mixing everything together, I decided three looked like enough, so I set the fourth aside for something else. I disagree with those who say the recipe is "bland" as is or that you don't need to add salt because the canned soup is salty enough. When you add bland to seasoned, you don't get seasoned, you get bland. The chicken needs seasoning besides what is in the soup. There are a ton of ways you could customize to your liking. I think if I make it again I might add some fresh mushrooms, but I found it to be quite tasty as written. It tasted like I expect this kind of casserole to taste. The chicken was moist and tender and the casserole was nice and creamy and the crackers added a nice texture and flavor. If you are expecting something sophisticated, complex or healthy, I'd suggest you make some other recipe. If you want something easy, filling and tasty, this hits the spot. Also a good choice for people like my parents who are not adventurous eaters and tend to complain that most things I make are "too spicy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Prepared this per recipe w/1 exception, added frozen peas which added flavor and color. Next time I will add fresh/can mushrooms, peas, and additional seasoning. Served w/a salad. Enjoying leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
AS IS (which is what reviews are supposed to be based on), this was very bland and just "meh". Basic starter recipe. With adjustments like more seasonings, added sauteed veggies (onions, garlic, and celery), I'd give it 4 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
4 stars for the recipe posted. I added some celery and onions for more flavor. My husband and 14 month old baby couldn't get enough! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdburge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I only added more seasonings such as onion powder, garlic pepper, and poultry seasoning. I could tell by the list of ingredient that it would be a milder flavor. For me this is not a big deal because sometimes I don't want a lot seasoning or I want to keep the cost down so I am not going to throw everything and the kitchen sink into a dish. I know I will make it again using a number of suggestions that I read in the comments. Thanks for sharing Dawne great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vinjovee56
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Really good dish, with the original cooks recipe. I like to always prepare the dish with it's original ingredients to rate & review the recipe on it's own merits first. I think then & only then the readers get an honest idea if they'd like to give it a try. Very rich and creamy consistency, plenty moist with a great full body for plating. The egg noodles are a perfect fit when combining & blending both the sauce and pasta into the casserole, I liked the dish a lot and plan on making it again only to try a few different ideas ... thanks for sharing, sincerely Vinjovee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vinjovee56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA
Photo by Anna B:)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I followed this recipe. I only made 2 changes. I used cream of celery, instead of cream of mushroom. And I also added half cup of frozen carrots, and peas. It turned out great and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Silvis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
The casserole was also a big hit at our home, as GinnyG stated i too would add chopped broccoli and maybe some mozzarella cheese... It was very filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I made this tonight and it came out great!! Thing is, I substituted cream cheese for the sour cream because I am out of sour cream haha. Turned out great!!! Thanks for a quick, comfort dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Gregg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donny Stedham
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Very good for a cold rainy night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donny Stedham

Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States