Chicken Nepiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
My boyfriend and I both thought this was fantactic. I didn't have garlic cream cheese spread, so I mixed some powdered ranch dressing mix into the cream cheese and it tasted great. I also sliced a pocket in my chicken breast and stuffed instead of rolling (Live on the top floor of an apt, didn't want to be banging chicken). I also did not freeze, but cooked right away. The only problem I had was I did not use toothpicks and since my chicken breasts were so thick, some of the filling had leaked out. SO I would recommend doing as the recipe suggests as far as the technique, but the ranch dressing in the cream cheese was perfect. Also, I would recommend dipping the chicken in something before rolling in bread crumbs because the bread crumbs did not stick as well without it. And use panko!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This was great! I used three chicken breasts but only pounded to 1/2 inch ( read the recipe wrong) so it took about 40 minutes to cook.. but it was so worth the wait! I used Onion and Chive cream cheese and Panko crumbs (added in my own seasoning). I am a cream cheese freak, not to mention I'm pregnant, and my husband was in awe of me scarfing it down. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I didn't use egg before frying. When frying I put one side spices, one side breadcrumbs. Turned out great! I might try following the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I took the essence of the recipe and put a twist on it. I made my own cheese filling by using the last remains in the fridge of crumbled goat cheese and cottage cheese, seasoned it, and whipped them together. I also added fresh, chopped spinach before rolling the chicken. I got very positive reviews at dinner. I had company as well as three kids to please and I could have doubled the recipe. Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This recipe is SO delicious and easier to make than I thought! I made it for my boyfriend and we are both hooked. I couldn't find garlic cream cheese so I just mixed the cream cheese with garlic salt. This is definitely happening again in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight and it was amazing! My family loved it. Perfect with a glass of red wine. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Aalderink

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I've just made this, but my own way and it is SO GOOD!! I made my own garlic cream cheese with elephant garlic and shallots, then i rolled it up inside chicken that i sliced thin myself. I toothpicked them, dipped them into flour, egg, then breadcrums, all which were seasoned. Dropped them into oil in a dutch oven, and now they're delicious little morsels of chicken and cream cheese! I surprise myself sometimes! Also served with some asparagus with sour cream. I would have taken a photo but my husband and I destroyed it, it was just that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
We love this recipe! My 11 year old asks for it all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This is the second time I've made this. The first time, the chicken was totally overcooked at 400 degrees F for 20 minutes, so this time, I cut it back to 375. The photo chicken breast was 10 oz (huge) and, again, it was slightly overcooked at 20 minutes at 375. My supermarkets do not carry garlic-flavored cream cheese, so I used lower fat cream cheese and added garlic powder (and some chopped chives) to it. I also used some herb seasoned Pepperidge Farm stuffing which I crushed and used for the breading. What you can do with the cream cheese filling is almost unlimited. My recommendation would be to bake for 15 minutes at 375 degrees F and then use a thermometer to check the internal temp of the chicken. This is very good but would be even better if cooked properly, so it ends up juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I came across this recipe one day and had to try it!! I am not the most patient cook so I typically dont like a recipe that has this many steps but it wasnt nearly as bad as it seemed while reading it!! It was a major hit among the people I made it for and definitly plan on making it again!! The best part is that it wasnt a lot of stuff that I had to go shopping for. I had most everything in my kitchen already!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States