Chicken Murphy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I tried this tonight for dinner. My family had mixed reviews. I was skeptical about the "sauce", but it turned out pretty tasty.The sauce thickened enough to serve over pasta, but since we're not big pasta fans, I wanted to serve it without. For this reason I thickened it up some more with cornstarch. I also added peas for extra color and flavor. It was very delicious. I believe I may make it again, but perhaps I'll use chicken broth in place of the water, a dash more white wine, some white pepper and some garlic powder.I think the potatoes add enough starch without the need for the pasta. Thanks for sharing Heather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
Thank you, Heather! This dish was absolutely fantastic. After trying it for just my family, I adjusted the recipe for a large party and it went faster than anything else. The only thing I changed was to substitute stock for the water and left out the pasta as I read in the other review. As the dish simmered it got hotter and hotter and the raves increased accordingly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHBUM72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hewlett Harbor, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I say thanks to submitter Heather and reviewer Maggie McGuire! If it's a rainout for your BBQ here is a great way to use your chicken and sausage! I was in total agreement with Maggie about not using pasta with this dish since we were using potatoes. I followed Maggie's ideas exactly, using chicken broth instead of water, adding peas and thickening it at the end with cornstarch and water. It was great and would be good for an informal gathering. Easy to make. Serve with a salad and French or Italian bread to mop up the thickened sauce! P.S. Watch the onions - they cooked much faster than the sausage and I had to take them out earlier before they burned and left a burned taste in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
a strange combination. we did not like this gravey-potato-pasta dish at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
I love chicken murphy. This was a decent recipe, but I use my own which is somewhat different. But anyway, to the reviwer that didn't like this with pasta... try it with a medium shaped pasta, not a long thin one. That's the way I've always had it. Tried it once with angel hair, because that was the only thing left in the house, and it just wasn't the same. I typically use farfalle (bowties), or rigatonni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
I found this dish to be just ok. I wanted to serve it to my kids as well as husband, so I made it very mild. No peppers and mild sausage instead of hot. They still didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I loved this. I like hot and spicy food so the hot peppers made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
good but i wouldn't serve it over pasta that is too many starches but it is great with a nice salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I think all the flavors were good over all but with the potatoes it just turned to mush. We didn't serve over pasta either, too thick. If I made again I would leave out the potatoes and maybe add some butter to make it more saucy to serve over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
This recipe was definitely "different". It wasn't saucy at all and was very dry and bland. We added some garlic powder and garlic salt to the meat/potato mixture and that helped some. Also, we melted butter with some parmesan cheese and put that into the pasta before we topped it with the meat mixture. It turned out ok but needs some help. We will make it again but put more spices in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States