Chicken Murphy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I had leftover chicken and potatoes and decided to give this recipe a try. It was just ok. I did use a cherry pepper instead of jalepeno and a yellow pepper, not green. The boys enjoyed all the meat but the sauce was only passable. Should have put the wine in my glass instead :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
My boyfriend made this dish for me and it was very good. He follwed the recipe as written and I believe we will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
If you have leftover chicken and/or italian sausage this is a great recipe to go with that. I skipped the green pepper but added sundried tomatoes and a can of chicken broth (adjust the cornstarch until you get the right thickness) Top off with some pine nuts and fresh parmesan. Also, a whole jar of jalapenos seemed like overkill so I just chopped up a few hot cherry peppers. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I just finished making this dish and I have to say that I am disapointed. It lacked so much flavor I had to totally doctor it up with salt,pepper, garlic & onion powder along w/paprika. I also had to add a full cup of wine as well. No cornstarch needed since it was thick enough too thick in fact that I had to add almost a whole can of chicken broth. I didn't had the spice since my 5yr old will be eating it so not sure if that had anything to do w/the end result. It made an awful lot so we'll have to make due. Wish I wouldn't have wasted my ingredients or the 2 hrs it took to complete the dish. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I had leftover roast chicken and BBQ'd Italian sausage so I decided to use this recipe. I sauteed the onion and garlic like the recipes says then I added 2 garden fresh tomatoes, the white wine and my leftover chicken, sausage and the boiled potatoes. I added some chicken broth as well. I didn't have any peppers but I added a few red pepper flakes for flavour. I also omitted the cornstarch. The recipe turned out great and my husband and 3 kids all liked it (which is not easy to accomplish!!). This was a great way to use my leftovers and I will definitely keep this one in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Fyi as a fellow NJ resident That loves her Chicken Murphy its sliced cherry peppers thats needed not jalapeno . About 1 cup for serving 6-8 people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Holy smoke! WAAAAAAY to much jalapenos, on top of hot sausage. I only added 6 oz jalapenos and it just about killed me. And I LIKE spicy food. Other than that, it was so-so. Don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
This was only so-so for me. As another reviewer already noted, WAAY to much jalapeno pepper. Also, it didn't seem very "italian".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
My whole family loved this recipe! One problem...the recipe calls for a 12 oz. jar of jalapeno peppers. Talk about a 3-alarm fire!! Wayyyy too much peppers...a 1/4 of a jar will do just fine. Also, I used turkey sausage to cut the fat. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I LOVED this dish!! I made a few changes (no peppers or jalapenos, used tomatoes instead, and added some italian seasoning, skipped the cornstarch part because my sauce was thick enough already) I wasn't a fan of the italian sausage we got, so I ate mine without - still fantastic! Beware, however - this is not a "fix it & forget it" recipe - you're basically working on it right up until it's ready. If you're making it for company, I'd make the sauce a little while ahead and let it simmer or pan-cook it to reheat, and make the pasta right before serving. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States