Chicken Monterey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I wouldn't think you would want this much onion in it. I didn't use any and had planned on putting in a little onion powder, but forgot. I agree with others, it was a tad too salty. Not as bad after baking as when the sauce was cooking, but next time I think I will cut 1/2 the celery salt. May add some celery seed for the other 1/2. May also make sure I use unsalted butter, or I may just use chicken broth instead of stock. Stock seems too salty like bullion is. That may help as well. I will save this one, and will make it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Everyone really seemed to like this one. per other reviewers, I made the sauce in advance and even browned the chicken a few hours before and refrigerated them until time of assembly. I had some leftover turkey bacon in the fridge and layered that on top of the chicken, then poured over the sauce and then more cheese, covered and baked until chicken was cooked through and cheese was melted. Loved the fact that no "cream" of whatever soup was needed for the sauce. It was creamy and thick and delicious. Served with herbed angle hair and a salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Excellent recipe! It has great flavor and is soo easy and cheap to make. I followed Cindy's recommendation and made the sauce ahead of time, boy did that save a lot of time! Great tip! :) I also omited the celery salt since I didn't have any and just used a cup of chicken stock and omited the white wine. I will definitely make this again. I only used 5 chicken breasts since there is only 3 in our family that eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
So, so good. Made this and it was rated as superb by 3 hungry men who inhaled it. This will always be in my rotation as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This has a wonderful flavor! Even my kids, who won't eat mushrooms, eat this up, without knowing they're eating mushrooms! I think you only need to use 6 breasts for this recipe. To save time, I prepare the mushroom mixture earlier in the day, and refrigerate until ready to use. If you do this, the sauce will be thicker, but it thins as it cooks. My family didn't like it as much with the wine, so I omit the wine and use 1 cup of chicken broth. This gives it a milder flavor. I also omit the celery salt and the extra cheese on top. I have substituted cheddar cheese and, to me, it's just as good. One more tip that makes it easier for me: To get started, flatten 2 breasts and put those 2 in the skillet to brown while you flatten the others. By the time you pound the next 2 breasts flat, the first two are nice and brown, and so on. Served over egg noodles, this has become one of our favorite meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I fixed this recipe as written and it was awesome. I fixed it with a combination of wild rice and asparagus and it was an awesome meal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I tweaked this a little...I skipped the celery salt and used sauteed celery instead. Subbed sherry for the white wine, because I had that on hand. And I skipped the mushrooms because the kids and I don't care for them (my hubbie does, but he wasn't cooking) :) Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was a very nice chicken dish; I always love the extra dimension of flavor that adding wine to a dish gives and this one was no exception. I used the full amount of sauce but cut the amount of chicken in half for three of us; used one large portabello mushroom and used 1/2 celery seed and 1/2 celery salt due to some reviewers complaining of too much saltiness. In the future, I would serve this with rice as I think the sauce would be good drizzled over rice as a side dish. Thanks for the good recipe, Doreen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was good except the directions weren't too clear. Like the butter called out is 1/4 cup and steps 2 and 3 each call for a 1/4 cup. Fight through the directions and you'll get a good 4 star chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Very good! Left out the celery salt and white pepper, just used regular S&P. Used an entire 10 oz. package of sliced mushrooms. The husband thought it was good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States