Chicken Monterey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This is an elegant and incredible recipe, the name "Chicken Monterey" does not do it justice. You have to make it right, if you don't follow the recipe don't complain. This is a classic french mushroom sauce and the flavors combine to make you nearly weep. I made this for a party I threw and didn't even try it till after the party because I had been cooking all day. When I popped a bite into my mouth I made noises that were, well, inappropriate. When you brown the chicken, do it in hot, almost browned butter to acheive the browning without overcooking the chicken. I think that may be where some people are complaining, they destroy the chicken before they ever put it in the oven. The sauce needs to be made exactly according to the directions. I will cherish this recipe in my files forever. -Oh yeah, I am going to try adding some diced green chiles next time, but only because I have followed the directions once already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
Sorry, I didn't care for this recipe at all. The celery salt was odd tasting in it (regular salt would have been better), and there was way too much pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
Really good. I used 4 chicken breasts. Next time I won't 1/2 the sauce. It was yummy and very rich. Mom and Dad liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMYSHORES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I've made these several times with various fillings, they always turn out great and aren't hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Really good chicken recipe. Probably 4 stars for me but my husband RAVED about how good it was, so that gets it 5! I served it with steamed broccoli and brown rice. Mixed some of the mushroom sauce into the rice. Was a really good meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This was by far the best chicken recipe I've had in a long time. My husband ate enough for 4 people. Didn't even need a starch. I just made fresh Broccoli with Brown Butter. Outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Good recipe, I agree that it needs more sauce doubled onions,used 2 cups canned mushrooms {we buy gallon cans ofmushrooms at Sam's club] used 1 cup of wine and 12 oz. can of chicken broth used 2 cups of flour with lots of spices, italian seasoning,basil, oregano,thmye,sage,dillweed,and put the white pepper and celery salt in flour along with fresh ground pepper, then used 3 tablespoons of flour mix in sauce before coating the chicken. Also doubled the cheese in sauce and used 1 cup on top. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This was a good recipe, but I didn't think it was great. I think I coated the chicken with too much flour. I had the chicken wet when I put it in the flour and patted it and topped it with as much flour as I could get on it. I thought that it would make the chicken with a crispy crust, but it just turned out kinda mushy. I will make it again, since the reason it turned out like it did was my fault. The flavor was good and we did enjoy it other than the mushy flour stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
My husband liked it more than I did. I thought it was way too salty even though I cut the celery salt in half. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
It's tastes elegent like it's from a restaurant, but it's so easy to make! It was definitely a big hit at our dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States