Chicken Monterey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Fantastic and pretty easy to make even for me! I'm usually a 5 ingredient or less cook. My family loved it and it was perfect for 4 people although my husband and my boys were hoping for leftovers. Tasted delicious even though I was missing the white pepper. I did take time to pound the chicken thin and cut the oven time down by 5 minutes. This will become a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This recipe is so delicious. It was even great left over. Will definitely make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I made this recipe, but I eliminated the celery salt. I also added twice the amount of wine that it called for. The sauce definitely has to be thinned out a little bit. But, it was one of the best dishes I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
A real treat. The second time I made this I followed advice of other reviews and made a few " tweaks" to the recipe. (Yes, I know about those of you who scold folks who rate a recipe based on their personal changes. I rated this a 5 star as written, and now want to make my personal recommendations for changes. I always enjoy - and learn from - others who take the time to write their personal hints and tricks to improve a recipe.). My changes: 1. used the amount of butter as written and did not think it was too much. 2. doubled amount of wine. 3. Skip the part where you coat the chicken with flour. This is not necessary and makes for shorter prep time. Just brown the chicken breasts in butter. 4. Omit celery salt. 5. use 2-3 cloves of garlic. 6. Did not pound to flatten chicken breasts. Just used thick, plump pieces and they cooked beautifully. Husband loved this recipe. Served with wild rice. Thanks! Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Love this recipe- I always make it when I've got time for something other then sloppy joes or turkey burgers. It definitely has a prep time, but your patience will be rewarded with a tasty dish fit for guests! I'm finding it odd that some people are complaining about the cheese in the recipe- when it's sort of the biggest deal to it, lol. I don't change anything except the white pepper (which I don't have)- and it turns out great- I serve it with some wild rice and steamed kale and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
My DH loved this chicken recipe. I took some of the advice of others and left out the celery salt, cut back on the butter to make the sauce (used a little olive oil instead--still tasted GREAT), and I used a half a cup of monterey jack cheese in the sauce and didn't feel that it needed more. I also used three cloves of garlic, and didn't have any white wine on hand, so I used cooking sherry. I used 2 chicken breasts and cut them in half to speed up the cooking process and used the sauce amount in the recipe and it was just enough--so if your making 8 breasts, you may want to make more sauce. I also browned them in the butter once it was brown--kept them moist and golden brown--yum. My DH said this was awesome and wants this more often. Next time I will increase the sauce and serve this over wide noodles! Yum....thank you Doreen for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
My husband & I loved it............The only change I made, was to make additional sauce. That is, possibly I made it too thick. But I just added more stock and wine, as it cooked, till it reached the consistency and amount I felt was right. My husbands compliments of the dish kept coming after every bite! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Very good cut chicken breast in 1/2. Used vermouth instead of white wine. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was so good! I followed the directions -except I used only chicken broth( my kids hate when I use wine in recipes). The chicken was tender, sauce was amazing. My 16 year old daughter said it was the best chicken she's ever had..she even stopped talking to eat dinner! I served it with oven roasted potatoes and sauteed green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Natick, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Best chicken dish I ever had! Didn't have celery salt or white pepper. Added a little lemon-pepper and crushed red pepper to the sauce for a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States