Chicken Monterey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This recipe turned out very well for me. I scaled it down a lot, 2 serving only. I served it with some nice steamed broccoli, and baked potatoes. Very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This was pretty good -- rich though. Skipping the butter, I pan seared the chicken w/o dredging first in flour in a small amount of olive oil, then used the same pan to make the cheese-wine sauce. I opted for reduced-fat cheese to save on those pesky calories/fat grams and didn't top the chicken with additional cheese as the sauce was fine as-is. Might add additonal veggies next time - peppers would be good... thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
I wasn't sure how to rate this recipe. On the one hand, it tasted really good. On the other hand, it took so much work, was super unhealthy, and the sauce was basically an onion sauce which I wasn't expecting. So while it was good, I don't think I would make it again because I've made meals that are just as good, if not better, that were a lot less hassle to prepare. But I suppose if you have a lot of time on your hands and don't mind eating something really bad for you, then try this because it does taste pretty good (if you're prepared for "oniony-cheesy-chicken").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I generally liked this recipe. The sauce is more onion-based than I like, however. I had to bake it at 325 until it simmered - 300 didn't seem right. Next time I'll reduce the onions and add some heavy cream. For some reason, it tasted better the next day - the flavors had time to meld a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaSmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Wonderful recipe, this tasted soooo good! I browned the chicken w/o flour in olive oil, then cooked the veggies in the same oil, thereby cutting down on some of the fat. I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled the sauce, but that made too much, so I will probably make the amount the recipe calls for next time. I served with angel hair pasta. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy in Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Excellent! I did not use the wine but tripled the chicken broth. I lightly floured the chicken before I sauted it; however, I think next time I will skip the flour. Sauce is great over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Wasn't a huge fan of this one and I think it was because of the wine. If I ever make this again I would skip the wine. It was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYSAN01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This was so very good.I did add a dash of hot pepper flakes and did not pound the chicken. I make a new recipe serval times a week, and usually toss them.But this one will go into my safe keeping file.I printed this out in 10/03 and just came across it in my stack.Looks like a few people have found it. LOL. Thanks so much Doreen for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Made this last night. Actually, I browned the chicken in olive oil and butter the night before, made the sauce, refrigerated all and popped it in the oven at 350 degrees for 40 minutes the next night. The only difference is that I used shredded Swiss cheese instead of the Monterey Jack. It was wonderful. Served it with angel hair pasta and broccoli. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was a pretty good recipe, although it tasted similar to a cream of mushroom soup topping covered in cheese that would have been much easier and less expensive. Still tasty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States