Chicken Monterey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
My husband does not 'do' mushrooms - so I did not use -I only cooked for two breasts the first time - I can see why many suggested doubling the sauce if serving for eight. The sauce is very good, however I added maybe a half a cup of milk to the sauce after adding the cheese, what I'd made turned out a bit heavy and more chicken stock would have made it too salty (I used a bullion cube for stock with the ½ cup water it was strong) I did not have any white wine on hand – but boy I will add wine the next time making this (next weekend!) I breaded the chicken with bread crumbs – but next time will use flour, as baking the breasts in the sauce – crisp of bread crumbs is neutralized. I look forward to using mushrooms when having family enough over to make more than one main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
We loved This! Adding to rotation ;) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I would cut out some Monterey and use a little white Mexican cheese dip instead. All my guests were adding this on top of their chicken. Of course my family loves cheese dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I had to make a few changes for what I had on hand. I used boneless chicken thigh pieces. I didn't dredge them in flour I just browned them in some olive oil and garlic seasoned them with a little salt pepper. Put them in the oven with some colby cheese on top. I then made the sauce following the directions except adding more chicken stock and omitting the wine. I served the sauce over mashed potatoes. It was absolutely wonderful. Will be adding this into my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This chicken stayed so moist! We all loved it! For the family's sake I sauteed the mushrooms as the recipe says with the onions and garlic but then set them aside. I meant to add them back on the my chicken breast (the fam isn't a mushroom fan) before it's topped with cheese but I forgot. So when it was done baking I just threw them on top of mine :) This really is delicious! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
very good I followed recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I love this sauce!! My husband and I go to this place where they serve Chicken Pepperoni Monterey over Pasta and its amazing! So I've tried recreating it and it never was the same it now, cut the butter in half and just add the pepperoni in with the garlic, onions and mushrooms. Prepare the same just leave out the Salt, the pepperoni gives off the right amount of salt... Goes great with pasta or Gnocchi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Great sauce and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I agree with other reviewers - you need more sauce and less salt. This dish was still excellent though - my hubby and father raved over it! I served it over rice with salad. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I made this with swiss because that's all I had - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States