Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
I must admit that I had reservations on combining peanut butter, chocolate, and salsa, but somehow or another, it all came together in a delicious blend of flavor. A nice twist from the same old, same old mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
this is so good and quite easy! served it with yellow rice, black beans and fried ripe plantains! reduced chili powder to 2T and added 1/2t crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
One of my new favorite recipes, I make it at least once a month. The chocolate, peanut butter, and salsa give this recipe a full, robust flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
The easiest mole sauce possible. I LOVE mole this is awesome, but I do cut back on chili powder, and add a HERSHEYS KISS. I Crave It!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This was amazingly good!!!!!!! I've had really good mole before (Mexican gourmet restaurant), and this comes in a close and respectable second! I will be making this again on a regular basis :-) My one suggestion is that the spiciness level of the salsa will REALLY manifest itself in the mole, so use mild at first until you are sure you want something spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This awsome by scratch! I knew there was peanut butter in there. This is fab. with my freshly homemade flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
We all found this to be delicious. I reduced the chili powder by a third and increased the peanut butter by a third and used a mild salsa. The flavor was superb, it had some heat but not so much as to turn my wife off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
The rating I gave this recipe was after I "doctored" it up. I have never had mole before so I don't know how it is supposed to taste, but when I first tried this recipe it was awful! It was bitter and just tasted bad. Since I hate to throw food out I played around with the recipe a litte. I added some sugar to get rid of the bitter taste. I also added some more salsa and peanut butter,then I added some chopped walnuts, nutmeg, cinnamon, ground cloves, and a little more chicken broth to thin it up some. It actually turned out to be pretty good afterwards. I will probably make this again but with these modifications to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
I really liked this recipe, and my fiance did too even though he won't eat chicken mole in a restaurant! This is different from any that I've had dining out, because it made alot more sauce (which was great with rice). I used skinless chicken breasts and thighs to reduce the fat. This was great and the sauce has just the right "bite" to it, not too spicy or sweet. We had it last night but it was even better today after marinating in the sauce overnight. Does not even taste like there is salsa in it...I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZYSPINELLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
I really liked this recipe. I used chicken breasts without the skin. Next time I will roll them in between two sheets of wax paper to make them thinner so it will cook faster in the middle and not dry out. The sauce was great. I subsituted ordinary chili powder with diced authentic pasilla negro chili pods. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States