Chicken Milano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Restaurant quality for sure! First I marinated my chicken(6 breasts) in buttermilk for a few hours as I do with all my chicken(1cup milk 1 TBS vinegar or lemon juice if no buttermilk) for that extra moistness. Then I mixed 1/2 cup flour with 1 tbsp paprika and dredged chicken in before frying. I did it all in one skillet-why dirty more than one pan! I sauteed garlic in 4tbsp butter(instead of oil) on low heat then I raised heat to med and added chicken which I cut into strips and browned on all sides. Then I added sundried tomatoes and 1 cup mushrooms and sauteed a little longer. I followed others and doubled sauce so I added 1 cup chick broth and 1 cup white wine(for a greater flavor) salt, pepper and reduced to low, covered and cooked for 30 minutes. I removed chicken added heavy cream with 2 tbsp cornstarch(I like thicker sauce)and fresh basil and cooked to my desired thickness then added chicken back in and tossed on fettuccini. WOW what a dish..Yummy! Fattening but a much deserved treat.-don't pass it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
537 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This is a very rich and creamy pasta recipe that was almost sinful! I tried to simplify the recipe as a few other reviewers have done and only use one sautee pan. First, I pounded out my chicken breasts to make them all even thickness then I dipped them in seasoned flour (smoked paprika, salt and pepper)and cooked them in a mixture of olive oil and butter until cooked through (about five minutes a side). I removed the chicken and added the garlic and about 1 1/2 cups chicken broth to deglaze the pan. I then added my chopped up sundried tomatoes and let them cook until tender. Then I added 2 cups of cream and about 1 cup of freshly grated parm cheese. I let this cook for about 8 mins and then added my chicken which I had sliced into three pieces each and let the chicken heat back up in the sauce and added the basil. This was soooo good - like a meal at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
374 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This will be added to my list of restaurant quality dishes. The sauce is creamy and velvety delicious and the whole dish makes for a beautiful presentation on the plate. I used two chicken breasts (for the two of us) but kept the amounts of the rest of the ingredients the same. I added white wine to the sauce, which must be reduced a good long time to get the thick, rich consistency I was after. After sauteeing the chicken breasts I sauteed shallots and fresh mushrooms, then added them to the sauce. I served this with whole wheat fettucine and roasted asparagus. We really enjoyed this, however, when I make this again I will stick with doubling the sauce, but keep the amount of tomatoes the same, as the amount of tomatoes meant for four breasts was a bit much for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Simple and Delicious! I started all three pots at the same time and I am glad I did because everything finished at the same time. Although I was hesitant of the amount of sauce based on previous reviewers I made the recipe as stated. I found the amount of sauce to be perfect for the meal. My personal opinion is doubling it would make too much - overwhelming the dish. I did make minor changes based on personal taste and what I had on hand. I seasoned my chicken with salt, pepper and poultry seasoning after pounding it thin. I'm glad I pounded it down - it took longer to cook then the recipe states. When cooking the chicken I used about 1-1/2 tbsp oil from the sun dried tomatoes for added flavor with the other 1/2 tbsp of olive oil. I made everything else as stated except used 1-1/2 tsp of dried basil because I didn't have fresh on hand. Watch your sauce and don't cook it on a high heat it will reduce quickly and you don't want to have the problem other reviewers had with too little sauce. Also you don't want the sauce to thicken a whole lot which may be causing the complaint of lack of sauce...As the recipe indicates you want it to be able to coat a back of a spoon. It's not an alfredo sauce so you don't need that texture. Anyways...My whole family enjoyed dinner even my picky eaters. Next time I may cook the chicken in the sauce after browning for some added flavor but it is perfect as stated. Thank you for the recipe it will definitely be a repeat in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
yum Yum YUM! I usually never leave reviews, but this recipe was too EXCELLENT to not post something. I tasted a spoonful and I was surprised at how good it was! My brother said it was better than something you would order in a restaurant. Next time, I would double the sauce recipe and use 2 cups of heavy cream and an entire can of chicken broth (14 oz), which makes it easier to use up all the ingredients. I also followed other suggestions and added chopped portabello mushrooms and a little white wine with the sundried tomatoes (the kind packed in oil--this gave the sauce a wonderful flavor). I added about a spoonful of cornstarch to thicken the sauce up a little. I used olive oil instead of the butter and vegetable oil. I cut the chicken into pieces before cooking, and added the broth directly to the chicken instead of putting it aside. Finally, I added about 1/3 cup parmesan cheese with the basil. I made it with bowtie pasta..I think it goes better with shorter pasta instead of strand pasta. YUM...i'm gonna make it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Let me start by saying that this recipe is DELICIOUS. If you're having company over, or want to impress a date with a fabulous dinner - this is the meal to make. Having said that, there are a few steps I would change when making this dish. My sauce was done long before the chicken and pasta and reduced down to almost nothing. I didn't really have enough to serve. Pound your chicken breast flat and season it first.(WATCH THE SALT - YOU DON"T NEED MUCH)Before you start to cook it, get your pasta going because it takes the longest to finish. Right after you get the chicken on, start your sauce. If you're like me and like a lot on your pasta, please consider making double the recipe - it reduces quickly. Thanks for the restaurant - quality dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicymama29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Oh My God!!! SOOOOOO good! This was absolutely incredible and not difficult at all. I know other reviewers thought it messed up too many pots, however, I kept the chicken in the pan and added the sauce to that to let it absorb the flavors and saved myself an extra plate and pot by doing so. It's TOTALLY worth the dirty dishes. My husband and I were fighting over today's leftovers. I added mushrooms and I used 1/2 and 1/2 rather than the heavy cream (to save on fat and calories) and it was still AMAZING! This will be a regular in my house. Thank you for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedVinoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This was so good I was inspired to write a review. This recipe tastes even better the next day. Next time I make this I will make the sauce the day before. I also reccomend putting a little bit of cream aside and mix with a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce a bit. This was fantastic and probably one of the best recipes I've tried on here so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belvidere, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
This was a great recipe but I did do some changes. I doubled it so that I could have sauce for a 16 ounce box of pasta, and instead of using sun-dried tomatoes, I used Knorr's sundried tomatoes and pesto mix-It was fabulous! I cooked the chicken with the chicken broth and then I put it in the sauce instead of placing it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I usually don't post reviews, but I made this for my bf and he said "Give this the best review you can! Or better!" It was just amazing! I did however make a few changes though. When I was making the sauce, I added some chopped up mushroom and onion. I also added about 1/4 cup milk to it as well, just to make a little extra sauce. Turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Milano

A tasty Italian-influenced chicken dish with sun-dried tomatoes and cream.

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States