Chicken Mexicala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
My son loved this recipe, he polished off the rest of the pan (although I was planning on leftovers). I did add the cumin and used a large can of evaporated milk and some chicken broth in the sauce. I put salt/pepper and chili powder on the chicken breasts and sauted them in olive oil, deglazed the pan with white wine and added that to the sauce. My son says this is a keeper. I told him it was "Mexican Lasagna".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2000
It took me 2 hours to make, maybe I did something wrong, but when it was done, it was SO good. It sounds bland, but it was delisious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
This is my recipe, you need to use chopped green chilies, one small can. You can cook your chicken in advance, this is the longest part, also shredding your own cheese makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2000
This recipe is delicious!!! I didn't understand the 1 2/3 green chile peppers, canned, so I just used a small can of mild diced chiles. Also, instead of the cheddar cheese I used the pre-shredded 4 cheese Mexican mixture. I plan on serving this to my bunko group! Thanks for a terrific and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
This recipe was great. My husband doesn't usually like casseroles, but this one he liked. It is a keeper at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
This recipe is great and very easy to make. I like to add a bit of taco seasoning to the chicken mixture as it's cooking for a little extra flavor. It's also good with some sliced black olives mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Yummy! I added a can of green enchilada sauce to add to the flavor and stretch the sauce. Yummy! I also put a layer of cheese in the middle, as I like really cheesey foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ferron, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This recipe was delicious!!! The first time I made it, it was a little bland for me, so I added taco seasoning to the chicken, onions, and peppers (for a little extra kick, add a little Tobasco too or top with salsa). Since my family and I are not mushroom fans, I substituted Cream of Chicked for the cream of mushroom soup. I also used a bag of the tortilla rounds chips for layering, then cumbled a couple of handfuls of the chips to put on top to give it a little crunchiness. The 4-cheese mexican blend shredded cheese from your grocery store works great too, and you can add a layer of cheese after each layer of chicken for a yummy cheesy dish. Its really easy to make and the leftovers keep well. The dish has been a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Excellent! As guided by the other reviewers, I added 1 tsp cumin into the chicken/soup/milk mixture and also added approx 3/4 C chicken broth. When cooking the chicken beforehand, I seasoned with some cayenne and chili pepper. Thinking of making this for the super bowl, it would be a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I love this recipe and after reading all the reviews I made a few small adjustments I use mexican seasonings (like taco seasonings) to the chicken mixture this adds great flavor!!! I also like to add cheese to each layer making it more cheesy mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sara a

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States