Chicken Mexicala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I found this recipe delicious and easy to make. Instead of halving the tortillas, i just layered them whole. I also used 2 cans of soup instead of one and it came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
My husband LOVED this dish and he is a picky eater! He suggested that I "work it into the rotation"! I did add a layer of cheese in the middle and added green chile enchilada sauce to the soup, chicken and milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I made this exactly as written, except that I could only find a can of diced green chiles (never seen a can of chopped ones), and the soup was a 10.5 oz. can instead of 10.75. And I should note that the chicken was boiled for a while to cook it, and the onion was a white one. But this also marked the first time I ever made and used homemade tortillas. (I have a bag of "masa harina de maiz", so I used the right amount on the bag's recipe to make 12 6" tortillas.) The tortillas were a bit irregular in thickness and were hardly circular, but it was only my first attempt after all. They worked okay in this recipe, though. The resulting casserole was just okay in my book, verging on the bland. I thought my version had way too much chicken in it, but I guess the chicken breast halves I used were pretty large; I'd recommend using small ones unless you really love chicken. I also thought that the amount of cheese was too little for this dish; I would double it at least, next time. And I also like other reviewers' suggestions of adding taco seasoning to the chicken mix, or putting salsa on the cooked dish. I might make this again, with tweaks like those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This recipe was delicious!!! The first time I made it, it was a little bland for me, so I added taco seasoning to the chicken, onions, and peppers (for a little extra kick, add a little Tobasco too or top with salsa). Since my family and I are not mushroom fans, I substituted Cream of Chicked for the cream of mushroom soup. I also used a bag of the tortilla rounds chips for layering, then cumbled a couple of handfuls of the chips to put on top to give it a little crunchiness. The 4-cheese mexican blend shredded cheese from your grocery store works great too, and you can add a layer of cheese after each layer of chicken for a yummy cheesy dish. Its really easy to make and the leftovers keep well. The dish has been a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This was very good. I only had cream of chicken soup, so I used that instead and added a small can of diced mushrooms to it. I also sliced 1/2 a can of black olives to add to the mixture. Upon others suggestions, I used 1/2 cup of the chicken broth and used a 12 oz.can of evaporated milk to have more "liquid" to the mix,that seemed to help. I also used flour tortillas, since it was all I had, next time I will try corn, the flour ones seemed a bit to wet. Great otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Yummy! I added a can of green enchilada sauce to add to the flavor and stretch the sauce. Yummy! I also put a layer of cheese in the middle, as I like really cheesey foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ferron, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This was very good! After reading others reviews I added one fresh finely chopped jalapeno and about 1 tsp cumin to the sauce. In addition I added 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup chicken broth (from cooking the chicken breasts) to "stretch" the sauce. To eliminate the fat I didn't saute the chilies and onions but combined the soup, evap milk, milk, broth, onions, green chilies and jalapeno and micro cooked for 8 minutes before adding the cooked chicken and putting the casserole together. Husband topped it with salsa but it was spicy enough for me without it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I'm not sure if I did something wrong but I followed the recipe. The chicken mixture just didn't seem to be enough. Maybe another can of soup? It seemed to be too much tortilla and not enough filler. I couldn't spread the chicken out enough to reach all the corners. That's why the tortillas were tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
This recipe is great and very easy to make. I like to add a bit of taco seasoning to the chicken mixture as it's cooking for a little extra flavor. It's also good with some sliced black olives mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This is very tasty. I used thighs and drumsticks instead of breasts and left out the onion (I was out). It was still great! When I was putting it all together, I kept thinking "this is way too much corn tortilla, no wonder people complained." So I made sure that every bit of corn tortilla was covered in the chicken mixture and they weren't dried out or tough at all. Also when I heated the tortillas I used olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States