Chicken Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
The rosemary and thyme didn't sound like a good fit for me. I used a simple chicken seasoning and cooked the onions and chicken on foil, on a medium grill. I grilled rye bread, melted the cheese on the bread in the process, and served with spicy brown mustard. It was very tasty in a simple way and only took about 20 minutes, start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Decent chicken melt recipe, though "sprinkling red wine" on chicken while its over open flame doesn't sound ok to me.. I did a quick toss with the herbs, wine and a little bit of olive oil with the chicken in a bowl before grilling. It did turn the chicken a grey purple, but that's what happens when you use red wine on white meat. Next time I'll use white wine instead to avoid the weird staining. I'll also use some mayo on the english muffins before hand to kinda give them some moisture and flavor. Decent, I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
i've made this a few times for my family and they loved it, the only this i did a little diffrently was and 1000 island to give it a little flavor and made mine withe american chesse since im not a fan of american otherwise it worked out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TJ
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I think this would be delicious as written. I did make a few changes: for about 5 minutes sauteed the sliced onion in a little butter and olive oil with a teaspoonful of that chopped garlic you get in a jar. Then put in the chicken breasts right in among the onions and slightly browned on each side. Then put in rosemary and thyme (I had fresh) with big splash of red wine and simmered the whole thing for about 15 minutes, 10 of which were covered. For another 3 minutes (about) I put the slice of swiss cheese on, covered. Served with rice. My kindergarten-age boys LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
The only reason I am giving it three stars is because my husband liked it. However, the man eats anything that doesn't move, so he is not a good judge. I thought it was edible. But not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Simply grilled chic with onions on top I dont think the flavors blend well, but my wife liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Took others advice & marinated the chicken. It has a hint of flavor, not overpowering. Easy to do, but it isn't anything to get excited about. Will make again, but try pepperjack cheese or mushrooms/red peppers on it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I don't think I made this correctly, because it was only okay for me. I have may other chicken recipes that are much more interesting that I would rather serve than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
These were very good. Quick and easy. Next time I think I will try a different cheese like pepperjack. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States