Chicken Matzo Ball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very, very easy! And the Mazo balls were very light! I actually added them to a box of Lipton Chicken Noodle soup! :) DELISH!! Thanks for the easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivica in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This is a great soup that my kids love. I have made some simple changes though. By using Bouillon tablets, I am able to throw in a vegetable tablet with the chicken broth and it's a nicer flavor then the ready made broth, plus the kids get some extra vegetables. I also changed the parsley for Dill Weed, which gives the soup an added kick of flavor and for the kids I make smaller matzo balls. But I love the recipe for the matzo balls and find they work out every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I added some shredded dark meat chicken and it was amazing! Everyone loved it. Also used premade matzo ball mix and added some parsley. Making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCDaisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Made this during the week and it is very good. I didn't have white pepper so I used black and it worked fine and I used dried parsley. I appreciate basic, simple food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I'm not jewish, nor have ever made any traditional jewish food, however my husband requested this when he was sick one weekend. I found this recipe, had no problem following it and the results were great. I'll make this again for both sick and well family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by JasoRobi
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
MODIFICATIONS: I added Egg Noodles Added Parsley to the soup Added Onions The recipe for the Matzo Balls was on point. It seems this is the key to a good MBS. Simple and filling. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasoRobi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent recipe. I tried making matzo ball soup for the first time, and impressed the family with this one. I used homemade chicken broth, which I think makes this more authentic. Your Bubie would be proud, hillrockra. lol. Thanks for sharing. I'll make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Ouch! The matzo balls were so hard that when I tried to cut into them with a spoon, one popped out of the bowl! Don't like using a knife for soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I added diced onion to this and it was delicious. Oh, the broth was super salty. I will buy less sodium chicken broth next time. I also used 4 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of veggie broth. When making the balls I added a few tablespoons of fresh cut parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Easy to make and hits the spot--especially if you're sick and have no one to make this for you! I used a combo of chicken and vegetable stock for more dimension. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Jewish Chicken Soup

This traditional chicken and matzoh ball soup is the original health food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States