Chicken Massaman Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I adapted this to be vegetarian by taking out the fish sauce and adding in some carrots with the potatoes. The sauce is very good! I did leave some of the peanut butter out as others have recommended, and it still turned out somewhat thick. This is so easy to fix with some water that I barely think it is worth mentioning it. We had it with basmati rice and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faeriecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I took the advice of another and used fruit substitute instead of tamarind past and I loved it. I used 1/2 c diced dried apricotes 1/2 c of dried cranberries 1/2 c of pitted prunes (yep) and it turned out fantastic. I only used 1/2 c of peanut butter and added 1 T worcherster sauce & 1/4 c of raw cashews at the end to sauce. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This was really good. I used red curry paste and also added some garlic. I cut the amount of peanut butter down about half. I did not have fish sauce or tamarind, so I used 2 Tbs of Worcestershire sauce instead. I also added carrots, bell pepper, and chopped peanuts to mine. I will make this again, after purchasing the missing ingredients. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Excellent recipe. I added large squares of sweet onion, cashews, and avocado slices. Chunky peanut butter adds texture. Instead of adding more sugar, the onion and avocado sweetened the curry just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Loved it! Added sliced carrots, pineapple, water chestnuts- great dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Very tasty. I would use about half the potatoes, because they gave it a weird texture, and substitute a different vegetable, something more crispy and maybe more colorful, just to augment the visual appeal. I will try a bit less brown sugar next time too, as it was somewhat sweet for may taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made this with a vegan fish sauce alternative and left out the tamarind (didn't have any)and it still came out excellent. We used quinoa instead of rice, mixed veggies instead of potatoes (because why follow the rules when there's no one making you) and it turned out so good. Experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Tried this recipe last week. It turned out great, and was as good as I've had in Thai restaurants. I live in very rural Maine, so having Thai means at least a 2 hour road trip one way, so I've been trying my hand at various recipes. Even the 3 finicky teens loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Ok for a base recipe, but I'm trying to find Massaman like my favorite restaurants and this isn't quite there. Unfortunately, I don't know enough about Thai food to get there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Made today. Came out really good. So delicious. Added some onions and red pepper and used sweet potatoes. Taste just like the restaurants. Very happy with this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainsboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States