Chicken Massaman Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
We really enjoy Thai food and I have been looking for massaman curry recipe for a long time. I could not find massaman curry paste so just used hot curry paste I had. Could not find tamarind paste in the stores here. I actually did not know what it was. I found several suggestions for substitutions . I went with one that called for equal amounts of chopped dried apricots, raisins, lemon juice and prunes but I did not have any. Cover with boiling water and let sit until fruit softened. I then blended it with my hand blender. It made a nice chutney like blend. It was flavourful and smelled great when cooking. I used sweet potatoes,green onions ,carrots and a bit of red pepper. We both enjoyed it and will make again. Probably used a little bit less peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jhawkins
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
It was awesome. I added an extra 1/2 can of coconut milk. Used sweet potato and added 1 tbsp of maple syrup, 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar and 1 tbsp lemon juice to replace the tamarind. Quick and easy recipe definitely will repeat this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Very good home version of my favorite Thai dish. Next time I'll try it with beef. While I'm sure the fish sauce serves a purpose, boy, did it stink up my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This was WONDERFUL! I swapped the white potatoes for sweet and added half an onion and a red bell pepper. This is how I have eaten this at my favorite Thai place. I also wanted to have more of the "soup" so I added another can of coconut milk. Wonderful recipe and I think the spices and everything were just perfect. definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I did not like this adaptation of one of my favorite dishes. Too much of all of the wrong flavors and turned out a thick, colorless mess. It is rare that I choose to waste food and skip a meal on my budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This is great as is. We have started making it with 1 1/2 cups regular potatoes and 1 1/2 sweet potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graham Matheson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
really really great! I added green peppers, peanuts, onions, and tomatoes. thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa Tingle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I adapted this to be vegetarian by taking out the fish sauce and adding in some carrots with the potatoes. The sauce is very good! I did leave some of the peanut butter out as others have recommended, and it still turned out somewhat thick. This is so easy to fix with some water that I barely think it is worth mentioning it. We had it with basmati rice and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faeriecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I took the advice of another and used fruit substitute instead of tamarind past and I loved it. I used 1/2 c diced dried apricotes 1/2 c of dried cranberries 1/2 c of pitted prunes (yep) and it turned out fantastic. I only used 1/2 c of peanut butter and added 1 T worcherster sauce & 1/4 c of raw cashews at the end to sauce. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This was really good. I used red curry paste and also added some garlic. I cut the amount of peanut butter down about half. I did not have fish sauce or tamarind, so I used 2 Tbs of Worcestershire sauce instead. I also added carrots, bell pepper, and chopped peanuts to mine. I will make this again, after purchasing the missing ingredients. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States