Chicken Massaman Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Good basic recipe, although you really want to start off frying the paste first with the oil for a couple minutes and then add the creamy part of the coconut milk. Let the two mix better. I also didn't add peanut butter, because I think that's cheating kind of and another user complained about the thickness of the curry (I like mine soupy, too). I would just use peanuts, throwing them in with the potatoes or at the end, and maybe peanut oil to fry it all up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was FABULOUS!! I always order this dish at my favorite Thai restaurant -- I made this for dinner tonight and it was just as good, if not better! I used lite coconut milk and I added some carrots, basil and unsalted cashews. I didn't have tamarind paste, but here's a good substitute: I processed equal parts dried apricots, prunes, raisins and lemon juice. IT WAS TO DIE FOR!!! I served it over brown rice and both my husband and I loved it. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I couldn't find massaman curry paste anywhere, so I had to use red curry paste. I also used sweet potato instead of white and added onions and carrots as per another reviewer's suggestion. The texture of the sauce was perfect, but I found it almost needed to be a little sweeter. I might add a little more brown sugar next time. Overall, we liked it quite a bit and plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I love the Massaman Curry from the Thai restaurants in this region, and I had high hopes for this recipe. Unfortunately, this dish did not meet my expectations. While I approached the called-for addition of 1/3 c. peanut butter with some skepticism, I added it anyway. I should have stuck with my instinct - Massaman Curry isn't supposed be this thick! This tastes like Peanut Butter Stew! The flavor is decent, but it's NOT at all what I expected. I recommend starting with half the peanut butter that's called-for and evaluating the consistency after 5 to 10 minutes. The dish will thicken a bit as it cools, so take that into consideration, too. On a personal note, I prefer a "soupier" massaman curry, so in addition to reducing the peanut butter I would also reduce the amount of potatoes to 2 cups from 3c. I would also add 1/2 cup of minced onions for dimensional interest. I will probably use water to thin out the leftovers from last night. ***This was much better after adding water to thin to my liking. When I added water, I also added more lime juice to balance the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was good! And fairly quick to make. I followed the recipe very closely. I could not find tamarind paste, but a quick check online says that Worcestershire sauce is a substitute. I accidentally bought chicken breasts that were pre-flattened for scaloppine, which turned out to be a blessing in disguise. They cooked up a lot better than regular chicken breasts and did not dry out. I also added a can of peas because that is what our local Thai restaurant puts in their Massaman. Once everything was cooked, I added the peas in and let it sit for a few minutes so they could heat up. Oh! And I added some pepper flakes because we like it spicy. My only complaint is that there was too much potato. I will only use 1 potato next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
White chicken, white potatoes, white coconut milk, white rice... too many white foods. Flavor was good, but the dish was bland in color and texture. I'll make this recipe again, but next time, I'll include colorful veggies and crunchy textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
We recently moved from NYC to NC and I was really missing this great Thai dish. I made this recipe for my husband last week and it was awesome!! The only thing I substituted was equal parts Worcestershire sauce for the Tamarind paste. I also added onions, sw potatoes and a few strips of bell pepper. It was fantastic, can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Too much PB! I put 2 cans of coco milk to stabilize it. It's not as good as the restaurant but in a fix and to save money...why not?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Outstanding! Just as good as what you'd find in a restaurant. I used sweet potatoes instead of white ones and added chunks of bell pepper to add some color. Also, swapped Worcestershire sauce for the tamarind paste as my grocery store didn't carry it. One of my new favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This is a great base recipe. I add a little more peanut butter and potatoes, bell peppers, etc... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States