Chicken Massaman Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
YUM!This is a great curry recipe. My grocery store didn't have the tamarind paste, but it tasted great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. I just think the flavor of tamarind was way too strong. The unfortunate thing about recipes is that pastes and sauces can vary widely in terms of concentration. So this recipe calls for 3 tablespoons of tamarind paste. I used one tablespoon and the flavor completely overwhelmed the rest of the dish. Maybe my paste was more concentrated than other pastes. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Very flavorfull. A great dish! I went heavy on the spice and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Good basic recipe, although you really want to start off frying the paste first with the oil for a couple minutes and then add the creamy part of the coconut milk. Let the two mix better. I also didn't add peanut butter, because I think that's cheating kind of and another user complained about the thickness of the curry (I like mine soupy, too). I would just use peanuts, throwing them in with the potatoes or at the end, and maybe peanut oil to fry it all up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I couldn't find massaman curry paste anywhere, so I had to use red curry paste. I also used sweet potato instead of white and added onions and carrots as per another reviewer's suggestion. The texture of the sauce was perfect, but I found it almost needed to be a little sweeter. I might add a little more brown sugar next time. Overall, we liked it quite a bit and plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
My husband and I eat Thai food on a regular basis--from restaurants as well as from our own kitchen. Massaman curry is one of our absolute favorite dishes, but this recipe failed to live up to our expectations. Three Tbs of lime is definitely way too much, but the biggest problem is with the consistency of the sauce. The Massaman we're used to has more of a soup-like consistency, whereas this recipe caused it to be much, much thicker. It was almost the consistency of something like ketchup! Overall, I was pretty disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Outstanding! Just as good as what you'd find in a restaurant. I used sweet potatoes instead of white ones and added chunks of bell pepper to add some color. Also, swapped Worcestershire sauce for the tamarind paste as my grocery store didn't carry it. One of my new favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This has an excellent flavor and is just like our favorite Thai restaurant. I didn't have fresh ginger and used powdered. I'm sure fresh would have been better. I used Mae Ploy brand massaman curry paste, which was great. I also didn't have any tamarind paste, so I just left it out and I forgot to add the lime juice, even though I had the limes. I served it over brown rice because I like the texture better. Even with these changes, I loved this dish and will make it again without hesitation. I'll make it by the book next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was a delicious recipe! It was a little bit too limey for my taste when we first ate it, but when we heated up the leftovers the lime flavor cooked out. Perhaps I just didn't cook it long enough in the first place. I added carrots and onions to the recipe and will add even more of those next time, as well as peanuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
We recently moved from NYC to NC and I was really missing this great Thai dish. I made this recipe for my husband last week and it was awesome!! The only thing I substituted was equal parts Worcestershire sauce for the Tamarind paste. I also added onions, sw potatoes and a few strips of bell pepper. It was fantastic, can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States