Chicken Massaman Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Outstanding! Just as good as what you'd find in a restaurant. I used sweet potatoes instead of white ones and added chunks of bell pepper to add some color. Also, swapped Worcestershire sauce for the tamarind paste as my grocery store didn't carry it. One of my new favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This has an excellent flavor and is just like our favorite Thai restaurant. I didn't have fresh ginger and used powdered. I'm sure fresh would have been better. I used Mae Ploy brand massaman curry paste, which was great. I also didn't have any tamarind paste, so I just left it out and I forgot to add the lime juice, even though I had the limes. I served it over brown rice because I like the texture better. Even with these changes, I loved this dish and will make it again without hesitation. I'll make it by the book next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was a delicious recipe! It was a little bit too limey for my taste when we first ate it, but when we heated up the leftovers the lime flavor cooked out. Perhaps I just didn't cook it long enough in the first place. I added carrots and onions to the recipe and will add even more of those next time, as well as peanuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
We recently moved from NYC to NC and I was really missing this great Thai dish. I made this recipe for my husband last week and it was awesome!! The only thing I substituted was equal parts Worcestershire sauce for the Tamarind paste. I also added onions, sw potatoes and a few strips of bell pepper. It was fantastic, can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Really really good, didn't seem to take that long to make either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
We loved this recipe!! It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Fabulous! I didn't have the tamarind, and I had to use lemon juice instead of limes, but it still turned out great. I added peas and used red curry paste for color, though 2 tablespoon of the red curry paste made it way too spicy for my family. Also, I cooked it almost an hour longer than the recipe stated and the potatoes were still crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
We love this dish... We have it sometimes with sweet potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Serena-Marie
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This was fabulous! I didn't have the fish sauce or tamarind paste, but it still turned out great! I added a bit of chopped onion which was nice. My husband is a very picky eater and rarely tries new things, and even he enjoyed it! Thanks! Will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was FABULOUS!! I always order this dish at my favorite Thai restaurant -- I made this for dinner tonight and it was just as good, if not better! I used lite coconut milk and I added some carrots, basil and unsalted cashews. I didn't have tamarind paste, but here's a good substitute: I processed equal parts dried apricots, prunes, raisins and lemon juice. IT WAS TO DIE FOR!!! I served it over brown rice and both my husband and I loved it. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States