Chicken Massaman Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
The fish sauce is much too overpowering! Could 3 Tbsp really be the correct measurement? I ended up having to run out to get another can of coconut milk and doubling other ingredients (besides fish sauce and tamarind paste) to tone it down. It still wasn't great, but it was edible. Pretty disappointed as I love Masaman curry, but I will try it again and significantly decrease the fish sauce. I added strips of vidalia onion and used 2 white potatoes and 1 sweet potato. Very glad I did that as it helped with the flavor. Also decreased the PB to 1/4c and added 1/4-1/3c roasted peanuts. I forgot to add the lime juice so I can't comment as to whether that measurement seems off as well according to other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJANAY44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Perfectly mild curry - I love super hot stuff, but my wife doesn't like spice at all - and we both love this. Throw in some red bell peppers for some more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devan Muir

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
My husband surprised me by making this last night as Massaman curry is my fave Thai dish. He used Maesri red curry paste in a can from Thailand( I tried to make a similar dish using Indian curry paste and the flavor is alot different from the Asian curry, was disappointed). He added onion and carrot, but next time we will add more onion, maybe vidalia for its sweetness. We will probably par boil the potatoes as they took a long time to cook and i had to keep adding water to thin out the consistency. Also added an extra tbsp of brown sugar. It still needs a little tweaking but was so good I ate it again this am for breakfast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Absolutely delicious!! I cook thai and indian recipes all the time and this is by far one of my favorites! I added about half a cup of diced onions to the oil/curry paste mixture as well as a tablespoon of curry POWDER because I love both flavors. Tamarind and fish sauce are integral to the flavor of this dish so don't try to substitute. I didn't have lime juice so used lemon but it gave it just enough acidity and bite!! Top with cilantro, green onions and cashews - TO DIE FOR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsayRae910

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
YUM!This is a great curry recipe. My grocery store didn't have the tamarind paste, but it tasted great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. I just think the flavor of tamarind was way too strong. The unfortunate thing about recipes is that pastes and sauces can vary widely in terms of concentration. So this recipe calls for 3 tablespoons of tamarind paste. I used one tablespoon and the flavor completely overwhelmed the rest of the dish. Maybe my paste was more concentrated than other pastes. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Very flavorfull. A great dish! I went heavy on the spice and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Good basic recipe, although you really want to start off frying the paste first with the oil for a couple minutes and then add the creamy part of the coconut milk. Let the two mix better. I also didn't add peanut butter, because I think that's cheating kind of and another user complained about the thickness of the curry (I like mine soupy, too). I would just use peanuts, throwing them in with the potatoes or at the end, and maybe peanut oil to fry it all up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I couldn't find massaman curry paste anywhere, so I had to use red curry paste. I also used sweet potato instead of white and added onions and carrots as per another reviewer's suggestion. The texture of the sauce was perfect, but I found it almost needed to be a little sweeter. I might add a little more brown sugar next time. Overall, we liked it quite a bit and plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
My husband and I eat Thai food on a regular basis--from restaurants as well as from our own kitchen. Massaman curry is one of our absolute favorite dishes, but this recipe failed to live up to our expectations. Three Tbs of lime is definitely way too much, but the biggest problem is with the consistency of the sauce. The Massaman we're used to has more of a soup-like consistency, whereas this recipe caused it to be much, much thicker. It was almost the consistency of something like ketchup! Overall, I was pretty disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States