Chicken Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Excellent recipe. A family favorite and oft-requested dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was so delicious. I used beef broth instead of marsala wine, then at the end I removed the chicken poured in a little more stock and some milk to make a cream sauce. I then used cornstarch and a bit of water to thicken it. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Delicious!! YES!! I tweaked the recipe a bit. I quadrupled everything in the recipe, except for the butter & olive oil. I omitted the cooking sherry, altogether. I substituted the sherry for white wine vinegar. I could not fine Marsala wine, so I used red cooking wine. I added 2 large onions & 3 cloves of garlic!! I also added cream of chicken soup. This is the order in which I cooked everything: 1). I browned the chicken. I set it aside. 2). Using the oil that was left in the pan, I sauteed the onions & the garlic. I added a LITTLE bit of red cooking wine to break up the stuff on the bottom of the pan. I let that cook until the onions were soft. 3). I added the rest of the red cooking wine & the white wine vinegar. 4). I added epic amounts of mushrooms (we are a mushroom-loving family). I allowed that to cook until the mushrooms were cooked. 5). I added some cream of chicken soup to thicken the sauce. 6). I added the chicken back into the pan & allowed everything to cook together for about ten minutes. THE WHOLE THING TURNED OUT PERFECTLY!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very tasty. I just used 3/4 of a cup of marsala wine, I didn't have any cooking sherry, and it was just the cheap stuff from the grocery store since I don't drink wine. I used about 2 pounds of chicken, which was 3 very large breasts and I cut them in half and pounded them down to get 6 good sized pieces. I'm not sure if the original recipe was for about a pound of chicken but I thought it didn't make very much sauce. I added 1/2 a large onion, and sauteed the onion and mushrooms for a bit in the butter and I used garlic flavored olive oil. Then added the chicken back in and poured the wine on top. I think I could have easily doubled the sauce recipe, so if you are looking for a lot of sauce, I recommend doing that. Thickening it with cornstarch or adding a little cream might have been good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shinnerman
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Great - with no variation on the 1st attempt definitely a "make again" and again and again dish. When I feel like being adventurous with this... I'm going to try throwing in some garlic and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Very good and simple. I served with fettuccine, salad and roll. For my taste, it needed more salt. I took suggestions of others and increased mushrooms, thickened the sauce and added a touch of cream. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Super good and really easy recipe, looks so fancy and tastes so rich, but really it's a snap and goes together so easy. I will add more mushrooms next time. For the sake of cleanup I put the flour mixture in a plastic bag and shook the breasts to coat, so I could just throw the leavings away. I finished the sauce by adding a couple tablespoons of butter and it was decadent and delicious. Looks like you've cooked all day, but really it took no time at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimbo1seattle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My whole family loves this. To save time, I just grill the chicken without costing the chicken with bread crumbs and it still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris Burke
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
1st time making this. Turned out great. Very easy. Will make many more timrs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This is the first chicken marsala I've ever made - I bought the right wine and sherry, doubled the amounts of those, and cooked it separately from the chicken. Also added some cream, salt and pepper and cornstarch and doubled the mushrooms. My husband raved and said we should open the expensive wine to have with this because it's gourmet and needs to be "added to the rotation."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 3,273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Chicken Marsala

This amazing, company-worthy chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States