Chicken Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This is a delicious, very quick to prepare entrée that has become a family favorite. The recipe is great the as is but I did add a couple of personal twists. I often use boneless thighs instead of breast meat and they work well in this recipe. I also generally substitute regular sherry for the cooking sherry. Neither of these changes fundamentally change the original recipe they're just personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I made this recipe for my fathers birthday. Except I tripled the recipe! I was cooking for 7 people and I tweaked the recipe a bit. I didn't have time to run to the store so I couldn't make the recipe with cooking sherry. I just used more Marsala wine, but about half the amount. I also added extra green herbs to the flour seasonings. That's about all I did. I didn't know before I made it that my dad didn't even like chicken marsala. he was surprised when he found that he actually liked this recipe for it. He said he was truly impressed with how good they turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
AWESOME!!! Hubby's top 5 favorite! I did follow some of the suggestions such as adding sliced garlic, chopped onion, and I used all Marsala wine. I also cut the butter and oil in half and it worked just fine! Only other tweak I need to make is increasing that amazing sauce! I served this over mashed potatoes. Just a note for those looking for Marsala wine (not the cooking kind). I think most grocery stores carry the cooking wine in the oil/vinegar section of the store but this is simply not the same as the drinking Marsala wine. Let me tell you I was about to give up the search for the real stuff but I'm so glad I didn't! As is the case in my state (SC), if you are having a hard time finding the 'real' Marsala wine then look at places where hard liquor is sold. I was told that this wine has more alcohol than typical wine and the store needs to have a liquor licence. I'm guessing this is accurate based on my search results!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz 16
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I followed most of the recipe, but I seasoned the chicken first with granulated garlic, kosher salt, garlic salt , and pepper. I also added roasted garlic and a bit of sugar to the sauce. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I made it today for the first time at a book club party it was a hit I did add extra seasoning like lemon pepper to the flour and more oregano and garlic pepper seasoning they loved it and want the receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Wonderful recipe! Try putting the spices on the chicken before coating them with flour. It enhances the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I LOVE this. It's quick, easy and tasty. I halve the butter and oil and double the mushrooms and sauce. I freeze the chicken till it's semi-firm and slice fairly thinly. I also use a large Ziploc to cover with flour. Makes cleanup easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I made exactly as directed and thought it was wonderful. I will never order in a restaurant again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
After reading all rave reviews, I was so looking forward to this dish. I liked the chicken itself but not the sauce. I actually couldn't stand the sauce at all. I've had chicken Marsala only one time and I don't think I was too fond of it and I guess this just proves that I just don't like chicken Marsala. I'm not a drinker so the strong alcoholic flavor made it worse. I followed the recommendations(cream, chicken broth) which should have diluted the alcoholic flavor but not quite enough. I liked the chicken itself a lot so I would have to find a different type of sauce for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Great!!! Amazing company-keeping dish...highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hauoliz_eats

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 3,104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Chicken Marsala

This amazing, company-worthy chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States