Chicken Marsala with Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I have made this twice now - second time with some changes that were recommened in previous reviews. (1) Re: the flour. Just lightly dust chicken in flour seasoned w/ salt & pepper. No specific amt - just what it takes to dust chicken. Fry in some butter & olive oil and put aside. Then gently fry the mushrooms and garlic- adding a tad more olive oil and butter and, yes, I added about 7 chopped garlic cloves. This mixture can be put in the frig until your ready to make the gravy! (2) Re: the gravy - the receipe uses waaaaaaaay to much flour - which is why others had to add more beef stock and Marsala. You only need 2T. flour to each 1 cup liquid - so base your broth & wine accordingly (more gravy requires more flour and liquid). AND, 2T flour requires 2T of fat (butter/oil combo). Once the flour has been blended into the fat over low heat, stir until smooth and bubby - add liquid, salt and pepper to taste, stirring constantly. I did NOT use any browning liquid. Add chicken/mushrooms/ garlic, cover and put in 350 oven for 25 minutes! Your company can be eating their salad during this time. Delicious!!!!! Need more spices - just add what you like. I took the suggestion of adding basil. 3: Some also said the entree was bland - I took the suggestion of soaking the thin spaghetti noodles in the spice/oil/water combo prior to boiling - FANTASTIC! The nice thing with this dish is that most can be made ahead - as the restaurants do! This is a keeper for me since we do a lot o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I loved this recipe, but, after reading all the reviews, I "tweaked" it a little. I used 6 garlic cloves and 2/3 cup marsala wine. I know that sounds like a lot, but we like garlic, and it made it absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This was good. I have made another Chicken Marsala recipe that I do like just a little bit better. I think I will stick to that one. I do appreciate the post...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made a number of changes, most significantly with the cooking method, and ultimately was left with just a fabulous, superior dish, 5-star quality being an understatement. I did not use chicken, only because I had pork tenderloin to cook tonight. This recipe is suitable for either, and whether you use chicken or pork tenderloin, both are lean, tender meats that require brief cooking. I saw no need, then, to bake this – and I didn’t. I sautéed the sliced Portobello mushrooms in olive oil. I removed them from the pan, added a little more olive oil and butter, and BRIEFLY cooked the flour/salt/pepper dredged meat, a few minutes on each side. (I cut the pork tenderloin into medallions) I removed the meat from the pan and kept it warm while I made the sauce: I again added a little more olive oil and butter to the pan and BRIEFLY cooked the garlic before deglazing the pan with the marsala, then added a slurry made with a SMALL amount of flour and beef broth. Browning sauce was not necessary (see my posted photo). I served this over spaghettini with garlic, butter and olive oil. The meat was moist and tender, the sauce rich and flavorful, the Portobello mushrooms the perfect complement to both – just a beautiful dish. I rate this 4 stars rather than 5 because in my opinion the large amount of flour called for is not only unnecessary but excessive, olive oil is more appropriate for this dish than vegetable oil, browning sauce is not necessary, nor is the baking step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
AMAZING! I omitted the browning sauce, and I browned garlic cloves with the mushrooms (like 7-10 cloves). I also use cooking marsala wine...and anyway it's simply FABULOUS, I'm addicted to Macaroni Grill's Chicken Marsala, and this is the ONLY recipe I've found that even comes close. I also substituted White mushrooms instead of portobello ones, and didn't even notice any flavor difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I made this just as listed except I did not have any browning liquid so I used a dash of Worcestershire sauce. The chicken tasted like it came from a restaurant. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky River, Ohio, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
It looked fantastic and the sauce had a nice consistency, but it was a little on the bland side. I would make again, but add more marsala wine and other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
I "LOVED" this recipe. It was easy to make and was a huge hit at my party. The only confusing part was the flour so what I did was use half for the sauce and half for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
A little time consuming, but well worth it! Tastes fabulous!! We doubled the sauces and tossed the extra with fettuccini -it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
If I can make this – anyone can. Not only was this easy, it was Delicious! It tasted like the one at Macaroni Grill Restaurant. The only thing I did not like about the recipe was about the Flour part. It states you will need ¾ cup of flour, divided. Not sure what that meant. I had flour left over. Other then that, this recipe – ROCKS! YUMMY! I’ve passed this recipe to all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States