Chicken Marsala with Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I thought this recipe was awesome! I'm new to cooking with red and white wines so this was a nice springboard for me. Sadly, the man I cook for isn't into mushrooms (he has simple taste buds) so I ended up swapping them out for broccoli (his favorite) and it still tasted great. I did take a few suggestions from other people who suggested adding seasonings and more Marsala wine. I sprinkled some Oregano and added a dash of Basil to the sauce after adding the broccoli. I served it on top of thin spaghetti noodles which were soaked and boiled in water with basil, oregano, pepper, a little salt, onion powder, olive oil, small slice of butter, and some Thyme. I think the seasoned noodles complimented the dish well. Like most of my sauces, I still had difficulty making it thicken. But that's me, not the recipe. ^_^ Thanks for posting this! I really appreciate it! My boyfriend loved it and I can't wait to share it with his family. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SakuraBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is the best Chicken Marsala I have ever tasted. My entire family loves this recipe. I would suggest trying Wild Pheasant breasts in place of chicken breast, you will be equally pleased with this recipe. I also on occasion use baby bella mushrooms they are more mild and my husband does not like Portobello mushrooms and the baby bellas are a hit. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This is a really great recipe, but I had to tweak it a bit to my family's liking. We love Macaroni Grill's version and this was close. I ended up doubling the amount of boullion and Marsala (sauce was too thick and to make more sauce) and browned about 12 garlic gloves, some sliced, some whole (they way they do at the Grill). When I tasted the sauce, it was missing something. I added about 3 T of honey to sweeten it up a bit, it worked! Family loved it. Also, to speed things up, I was browning the chicken while cooking the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
AMAZING! I omitted the browning sauce, and I browned garlic cloves with the mushrooms (like 7-10 cloves). I also use cooking marsala wine...and anyway it's simply FABULOUS, I'm addicted to Macaroni Grill's Chicken Marsala, and this is the ONLY recipe I've found that even comes close. I also substituted White mushrooms instead of portobello ones, and didn't even notice any flavor difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
The chicken was great tender and juicy, I have never had portabello mushrooms before and I thought they were fantastic. Only thing is no directs with the flour so winged it and too thick also kinda salty won't use boulian again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kersey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I don't know if I messed it up or what, but it just tasted like brown gravy over chicken and mushrooms to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I made this recipe last night and my husband and I loved it! I will say the browning sauce was hard to find (because it didn't clearly state what it was). The flour totally threw me off like most. At first I ended up with a mashed potatoes lokking flour mess. I had to go back to the grocery store and buy more flour, broth & garlic (because I had just enough for one time). I didn't use Kosher salt. I used Lawry's instead (sparingly so it wouldn't make it to salty). I used it with egg noodles and a salad! Marvelous with a little tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obgynrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This recipe is easy and delicious! Chicken was so tender and juicy, and the sauce was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I loved this recipe, but, after reading all the reviews, I "tweaked" it a little. I used 6 garlic cloves and 2/3 cup marsala wine. I know that sounds like a lot, but we like garlic, and it made it absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States