Chicken Marsala with Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I did not care for this recipe; The marsala sauce just didn't work for me. Only recipe that I have tried off here that just didn't taste great. My roommate loved it though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made a number of changes, most significantly with the cooking method, and ultimately was left with just a fabulous, superior dish, 5-star quality being an understatement. I did not use chicken, only because I had pork tenderloin to cook tonight. This recipe is suitable for either, and whether you use chicken or pork tenderloin, both are lean, tender meats that require brief cooking. I saw no need, then, to bake this – and I didn’t. I sautéed the sliced Portobello mushrooms in olive oil. I removed them from the pan, added a little more olive oil and butter, and BRIEFLY cooked the flour/salt/pepper dredged meat, a few minutes on each side. (I cut the pork tenderloin into medallions) I removed the meat from the pan and kept it warm while I made the sauce: I again added a little more olive oil and butter to the pan and BRIEFLY cooked the garlic before deglazing the pan with the marsala, then added a slurry made with a SMALL amount of flour and beef broth. Browning sauce was not necessary (see my posted photo). I served this over spaghettini with garlic, butter and olive oil. The meat was moist and tender, the sauce rich and flavorful, the Portobello mushrooms the perfect complement to both – just a beautiful dish. I rate this 4 stars rather than 5 because in my opinion the large amount of flour called for is not only unnecessary but excessive, olive oil is more appropriate for this dish than vegetable oil, browning sauce is not necessary, nor is the baking step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Wonderful recipe, put over rice instead of pasta. Did use more garlic and wine, wanted a more pronouced flavor.. first time making this in the oven and it was very easy ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslee123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I loved this recipe, it was easy to make and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Just finished dinner and this dish is phenomenal! Made it just as written. Would not change a thing. It is going to be only an occasional dish as it is far from low cal. I have been looking for a good marsala sauce for a long time and honestly, this is the best I have found so far. Served ours over homemade mashed potatoes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This was an amazing dinner!!! I found the recipe and my boyfriend made it for me, with some mashed potatoes, it was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This is a very tasty dish but like the others said I think there is to much flour. I had to add a bit of water and more beef broth but it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curryd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is absolutley delicious. I gave it 4 stars because I used all the tips from Debbie's review. I also added a little worchestershire sauce because I'm a nut for the flavor, however, I do think it competed with the marsala and will leave it out next time. Also, we aren't big chicken eaters so I used pork sirloin instead. Thanks to Debbie and the original recipe poster. Addendum: With the Pork Sirloins I've also used a Merlot instead of the marsala wine. We love this recipe and have it a couple of times a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by koolperp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Cheairs
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
delicious and easy.... thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States