Chicken Marsala with Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I loved this recipe, it was easy to make and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Just finished dinner and this dish is phenomenal! Made it just as written. Would not change a thing. It is going to be only an occasional dish as it is far from low cal. I have been looking for a good marsala sauce for a long time and honestly, this is the best I have found so far. Served ours over homemade mashed potatoes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This was an amazing dinner!!! I found the recipe and my boyfriend made it for me, with some mashed potatoes, it was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This is a very tasty dish but like the others said I think there is to much flour. I had to add a bit of water and more beef broth but it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curryd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is absolutley delicious. I gave it 4 stars because I used all the tips from Debbie's review. I also added a little worchestershire sauce because I'm a nut for the flavor, however, I do think it competed with the marsala and will leave it out next time. Also, we aren't big chicken eaters so I used pork sirloin instead. Thanks to Debbie and the original recipe poster. Addendum: With the Pork Sirloins I've also used a Merlot instead of the marsala wine. We love this recipe and have it a couple of times a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by koolperp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckc36
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
delicious and easy.... thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I made this just as listed except I did not have any browning liquid so I used a dash of Worcestershire sauce. The chicken tasted like it came from a restaurant. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky River, Ohio, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
We were surprised by how much we liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I have made this twice now - second time with some changes that were recommened in previous reviews. (1) Re: the flour. Just lightly dust chicken in flour seasoned w/ salt & pepper. No specific amt - just what it takes to dust chicken. Fry in some butter & olive oil and put aside. Then gently fry the mushrooms and garlic- adding a tad more olive oil and butter and, yes, I added about 7 chopped garlic cloves. This mixture can be put in the frig until your ready to make the gravy! (2) Re: the gravy - the receipe uses waaaaaaaay to much flour - which is why others had to add more beef stock and Marsala. You only need 2T. flour to each 1 cup liquid - so base your broth & wine accordingly (more gravy requires more flour and liquid). AND, 2T flour requires 2T of fat (butter/oil combo). Once the flour has been blended into the fat over low heat, stir until smooth and bubby - add liquid, salt and pepper to taste, stirring constantly. I did NOT use any browning liquid. Add chicken/mushrooms/ garlic, cover and put in 350 oven for 25 minutes! Your company can be eating their salad during this time. Delicious!!!!! Need more spices - just add what you like. I took the suggestion of adding basil. 3: Some also said the entree was bland - I took the suggestion of soaking the thin spaghetti noodles in the spice/oil/water combo prior to boiling - FANTASTIC! The nice thing with this dish is that most can be made ahead - as the restaurants do! This is a keeper for me since we do a lot o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States