Chicken Marsala with Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
This recipe was very good. My husband liked it a lot. The only thing I changed was...I did it on top of the stove. Instead of assembling everything and putting it in the oven, I assembled it in the frypan, covered it and let it simmer 15 min. It was wonderful and very tender. Our gas oven heats up the small kitchen a lot and the a/c was having a hard time keeping up. That is why I chose the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is a great recipe. It was everything I was looking for. I did follow the suggestions of others and increased the garlic and decreased the flour. I also used Worcestershire sauce instead of browning liquid because it's what I had on hand. I doubled the recipe for the sauce and would recommend doing so if you plan to serve it over pasta. I served mine over angel hair pasta with extra sauce. It was a winner with my whole family and they are hard to please with new things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I love chicken marsala, and this is a great recipe. Only one suggestion: I add 1-3 T of sherry, and that makes it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Everyone loved this recipe. I had never heard of browning sauce before. I think it enhances the flavor. The portobello mushrooms went really well with the sauce. The only change I made was I cooked the chicken on the stovetop and served the sauce separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I made this as written, sans the browning sauce. In its place I used a spoonful of savory brown gravy. My husband and I both enjoyed it but next time I think I will add some dehydrated gravy to make it more savory as it was a little lacking for our taste buds. I served it over thin spaghetti that I had tossed with Tuscan herb olive oil. These flavors paired very nicely. As did the steamed fresh asparagus that I served with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Baerwaldt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Absolutely awful! One star because the chicken did come out tender. But as several others reported - it was a unappetizing, stodgy mess! It needed MAJOR tweaking, in an attempt to salvage something of the meal. Very disappointing and unlike any marsala I've ever eaten! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Wow! Delicious. my 4 yr old twins and husband gobbled it up. I only used half a stick of butter for entire recipe since i thought 1 1/4 sticks is way too fatty. Nevertheless it was super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
My husband and I tried it tonight and we thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Adams

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Great recipe. I use pheasant breasts in place of chicken breasts and it is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fay Beman
Home Town: Holmes City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States