Chicken Marsala II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Delicious Marsala recipe! I doubled my sauce as suggested and used prosciutto in place of bacon. The sauce did not thicken as nicely as I wanted so I added more cornstarch and water, got too thick. No worries, still yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Good but not great. Followed the recipe exactly. The marsala taste of the sauce is very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Wonderful! Hubby loved it, teen liked it and I liked it. I used lose of mushrooms but we love them cooked with chicken for a depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Really easy and very delicious. I didn;t have any marsala wine though so I just used chardonnay and added a packet of stevia to sweeten it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I had high expectations for this and was pretty let down. I only had sweet Marsala but several reviewers said it would be better with sweet. I will try it again with the dry to see how well I like it then. Also, I don't see a reason to cook the mushrooms in butter and then add bacon which would only render more fat. I cooked the chopped bacon in the pan first, removed the cooked pieces and used the drippings to saute the mushrooms. I doubled the Marsala and still there was very little sauce once it deglazed the pan and reduced down a bit. Although dredging the chicken in flour worked well, I don't think I would miss anything by just using seasoned chicken breasts and that would save on fat calories. Of course that is just my health-conscious twist. Over all I found the sauce bland and there was definitely too little sauce for six servings. I'm not giving up on this, just need to tweak it to get the flavor I expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yerington, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
MAKE AHEAD AND FREEZE: I made a LARGE batch of this for a buffet dinner party and it was delicious! I knew the day of the party I'd have no time, so I made it a week in advance and froze it.. here's how: I cut the boneless chicken breasts into smaller pieces (easier serving for a buffet) and only cooked them partially (about 3/4 of the way done, but sauteed in the bacon/butter to have a nice browning color to them) The bacon adds great flavor to this dish.. could also use finely chopped porchetta) remove from pan and cool chicken... once it's cooled you can put into zip lock bags and freeze. Continue making the sauce, adding the mushrooms. I personally like to saute the mushrooms a little more so they get a little brown on the sides. I also made extra sauce! Cool and freeze the sauce separately. (I used flour instead of cornstarch). MORNING OF PARTY: remove from freezer to thaw - ideally completely (you may need to microwave sauce partially, you just don't want to put hot sauce on partially frozen chicken into the oven - it won't cook evenly) . Place chicken and sauce in a large baking dish, cover with foil and pop in oven at 350 for an hour or so. (I eventually moved it to a sterno for the buffet - you could also warm it up (and complete cooking) in a crock pot..., you just want to heat it and finish the cooking of the chicken. finish with chopped parsley... (I serve this with pasta and a red sauce on side).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Having never had the dish in a restaurant, I don't know how it's 'supposed' to taste; this is a good but not outstanding dish which would benefit from some sharper combination of spices (or something).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Quite good. Serve with side of rice or noodles and a vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I used thinnest chicken pieces from Whole Foods. Didn't use bacon. Next time: try ham bits fried as the Lynnfield Deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hashian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Good, but a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Marsala

This amazing, company-worthy chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States