Chicken Marsala Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
GREAT recipe, but I did use fresh Roma tomatoes (less expensive), omitted butter and sauteed an onion (I love onions) in the oil before adding the mushrooms . As others suggested, I used LOTS of cut up raw spinach and a sweet Marsala wine - it reduces very well. Very tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
My family loves this recipe. Tried a different one and this is my fave.yummy! It's a staple in our house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was alright, but the sun dried tomatoes overpowered the dish and adding the butter before deglazing the pan left a greasy rather than blended sauce. I was hoping for a rich mushroom flavor with bright pops of tomato acid. If I try it again (which I may not), I think I'd cut the tomatoes down to 1/4c or cut them out entirely. Or, I'd go the opposite route and push the tuscan side by adding olives and capers. I also (skeptically) followed the recipe's call for melting the butter before deglazing with wine and I think that was a mistake. A more traditional approach of whisking the butter bit by bit after the marsala has reduced right before removing from the heat should give a more emulsified (less butter grease) end product. As others have said, addd garlic is a must. I've also gotten in the habit of brining my chicken before cooking which keeps it juicy (hubby loved the chicken, sans sauce). With a few tweaks this might be a keeper, but as it is I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Excellent favors, easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NataliaNewbie
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Ok, I eliminated the flour since I've gone paleo and my friend that was over for dinner is gluten intolerant. Also I replaced sun dried tomatoes with sun dried tomato pesto, and Cabernet for Marsala wine. I also added 2 cloves of garlic to the sauce and used brown rice as a side instead if pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe except for using 1/4 cup butter vs. 3/4, cup, adding another handful of spinach and adding a clove a garlic. When it was cooking, I thought that we would not be able to eat it. However, after tasting it, both my husband and I really liked it. I served with a side of buttered spaghetti, and it worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This was amazing! I used boneless chicken breasts, which made it was a little on the oily side, so next time I'll reduce the olive oil, but that's the only change I would make. The flavor is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Great flavors in this dish. The only problem I had was that it ended up being a little greasy. I used sun dried tomatoes that were packed in oil, so I cut the butter back to 1/2 cup (1 stick), and drained the sun-dried tomatoes before adding them, and it was still a bit too greasy - delicious, but greasy. Next time I will cut the butter back a bit more, maybe to 5 tablespoons. We served this over angel hair pasta. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This recipe was GREAT! I modified it to reduce the calories and cholesterol and my family loved it! I cut the butter to 1/4 which was plenty to give the dish great flavor and mouth feel. I used 4 cups of sliced portobellos and a 6 oz bag of spinach. Remember to season the veggies after reducing the Marsala wine mix. I served it over fettuccine for the rest of my family. Will definitely be making it again. It would be a good recipe for company as it could be made in advance, combined, and then reheated in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trishy
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This was absolutely delicious.. I did a gluten dairy free version. I used dry Marsala wine by Florio and Earth Balance butter and Garbanzo & Fava flour. Restaurant quality.. Can't wait to make it for a dinner party..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States