Chicken Marsala Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Classic Chicken Marsala this isn't, but I don't care WHAT you call it, this is just a wonderful dish. With the exception of using less oregano (just sprinkled a bit over the flour-dredged chicken) and adding a couple of cloves of fresh, minced garlic with the mushroom mixture, I prepared this exactly as written. Colorful presentation, perfect blend of flavors. I served this with penne pasta and additional sauteed fresh spinach as sides. Outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Ok - here is the deal. I just made this tonight. I thought it was good - Although the marsala (I used a dry marsala) was a little too overpowering -next time I would use 1/2 C to 3/4 C - not a whole cup. I would use a little more mushrooms and sundried tomatoes. I would use less butter (my god, 3/4 of a cup??) and I would use more spinach. Actually, I did use more spinach - the recipe calls for 1/2 cup and I used about 2 cups. This will probably taste even better tomorrow, so the flavors have a chance to "marry" overnight - I probably would make it again, but next time I would: use more portabello mushrooms, more sundried tomatoes, more spinach, less butter and less marsala. This recipe has all the ingredients for an excellent dish - the amounts of the ingredients just need to be tweeked a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This was fantastic! The sun dried tomatoes add a great flavor. I used tomatoes packed in oil so I cut the butter almost in half and it still turned out perfect! I also added a clove of garlic and a green onion to the sauce for a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
**********
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
Easy and very good. When you pan-fry the chicken, try adding the marsala wine for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
I have never received so many compliments on a recipe! Actually made it for guests on a Saturday night and they liked it so much, I repeated it for Sunday night guests. Tasted better than many restaurant versions. A definite "do again" especially if for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I have my own marsala recipe that I usually use, but I though I would try something different. I shouldn't have. I wasn't at all impresse with this recipe. It definatly wasn't much for eye candy. Sauce was brown, the spinach turned greenish brown and the tomatoes were redish brown. It was a pretty brown meal. The tomatoes added a unnaturally sweet taste and the spinach just got in the way. Also the breading on the chicken is bland, and since it wasn't cooked with the sauce the flavors don't get into the meat at all. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Beatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I cut the butter amount in half & added 2 cloves of garlic to this. I also boiled my tomatoes in about 1/2 cup beef broth before adding them. This was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Really good recipe! We have tried a few other Chicken Marsala recipes, but none of them were this good. I made 3 small changes that made the dish perfect for us: I added about 1 teaspoon minced garlic with the mushrooms. I stirred in about 1/2 c. cream when I added the spinach (makes it smooth, creamy and richer). And I also put the chicken back into the gravy to simmer once the mushrooms were tender, for about 15 minutes. Our only Chicken Marsala recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Delicious - I made this for my husband and one of his friends one night and they loved it - I've been making it with less butter than it calls for (because I accidentally did it the first time, probably 6-8 Tbsp,) and it's great like that too. I also added more spinach because I love the veggies as much as the chicken! Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States