Chicken Marsala Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I did not think I was going to like this at all. The sun-dried tomatoes (I used them in oil) didn't seem to go with the marsala or the spinach. Wow, was I wrong. I always follow recipes exactly, but since I was missing an ingredient for another recipe, I searched my go-to site and found this. I used chicken tenderloins, didn't pound them much and had to cook them quite a long time to make sure they were cooked through. After that, I transferred them to a serving dish and cooked the few mushrooms I had, added the marsala and drained slightly the sun-dried tomatoes and added them to the saute pan. Because I was using tomatoes in oil, I only used about 4 T of butter which was a good thing. After cooking the sauce for 8 minutes, I put the chicken in the pan to heat through and transferred this to a serving dish. Then I sauteed the spinach for a few minutes. We added this to the dish at the table. My very picky son loved it and I loved it even more. I am going to make this for company it is so good. What a find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Very tasty. I think sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil would have been better than the vac-pack ones I bought (cheaper). They seemed a bit dry and tough, although I did keep them in the simmering Marsala wine for the required ten minutes. Sautéing the mushrooms in the same pan with some of the chicken bits stuck to the bottom was so delicious, and they cooked like three times as fast. I think next time in order to really bring out all the flavors, I will add the pasta and chicken to the vegetables and wine three minutes before serving. The pasta seemed a bit bland to me. Also, I think I'll add 1 and 1/2 C Marsala. We can't get enough of it! Great recipe---thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Followed the recipe-did not make any changes. The marsala was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Yum! this is really spectacular, and it is beautiful when plated. I didn't exactly measure much of anything, including the flour and seasonings. I added more seasonings to the flour/oregano mix, using a McCormick garlic and onion blend just to help the flavor since some reviews stated the chicken itself was bland. I left out the butter completely; I just added more olive oil if I needed more grease in the pan. Used canned button mushrooms because that's about all hubs likes, and I'm not a mushroom fan. Served with rice and it was a lovely, filling meal. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My husband made this recipe for dinner while I was at work. When I walked in the house the kitchen smelled wonderful with the scent of wine. (And I'm not a wine lover.) All the ingredients complimented each other. The meal was beautiful to look at and a delight for the palate. It was fabulous! Hubby made a couple of changes to the recipe, one due to family dairy sensitivity. He substituted Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks for the butter, and only half the amount stated. He also added about 1/2 cup of chicken broth. I'll look forward to having this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chia the Cooking Maven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Family loved it! I added some minced garlic while sautéing, added some cream to it too, and simmered the chicken in with the other ingredients. I make chicken marsala often, and one of my sons is not a fan, but he actually cleaned his plate tonight with this version! Will definitely be repeating this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
LOVED IT. I did not use the Holland House brand Marsala though. I used a quality brand and I also added sherry and capers. So Marsala it wasn't but whatever you want to call it doesn't matter. Yum. The second time I made it I didn't have roasted peppers and I truly believe that step is significant. So with just a little tweaking this is a fantastic meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Really good recipe. I added garlic as suggested in some of the other reviews. The flavor was exactly what I was expecting! My dinner guests enjoyed this one. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missnadia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Very good recipe, my husband loves it, and its relatively easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was a fantastic! Definitely a new favorite dish for the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States