Chicken Marsala Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I have my own marsala recipe that I usually use, but I though I would try something different. I shouldn't have. I wasn't at all impresse with this recipe. It definatly wasn't much for eye candy. Sauce was brown, the spinach turned greenish brown and the tomatoes were redish brown. It was a pretty brown meal. The tomatoes added a unnaturally sweet taste and the spinach just got in the way. Also the breading on the chicken is bland, and since it wasn't cooked with the sauce the flavors don't get into the meat at all. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Delicious - I made this for my husband and one of his friends one night and they loved it - I've been making it with less butter than it calls for (because I accidentally did it the first time, probably 6-8 Tbsp,) and it's great like that too. I also added more spinach because I love the veggies as much as the chicken! Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Yum! Will be making this again. Would be great when having guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I cut the butter amount in half & added 2 cloves of garlic to this. I also boiled my tomatoes in about 1/2 cup beef broth before adding them. This was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
awesome! this is an amayzing recipe. i modified it slightly to taste. i almost doubled the amount of everything. exept the marsalla. ading a half cup more marsalla and some chicken stock. because i used extra every thing, i baked it in the oven for an extra 10 minutes or so. this dish seams to go especialy well with a nice glas cheep cabernet savignon :] definatly add some chicken stock like a cup or two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicholas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ecco_Star
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
tastes great and looks awesome! We did alter the recipe a little just by adding more chicken, sherry wine, and more of the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ecco_Star

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Ok - here is the deal. I just made this tonight. I thought it was good - Although the marsala (I used a dry marsala) was a little too overpowering -next time I would use 1/2 C to 3/4 C - not a whole cup. I would use a little more mushrooms and sundried tomatoes. I would use less butter (my god, 3/4 of a cup??) and I would use more spinach. Actually, I did use more spinach - the recipe calls for 1/2 cup and I used about 2 cups. This will probably taste even better tomorrow, so the flavors have a chance to "marry" overnight - I probably would make it again, but next time I would: use more portabello mushrooms, more sundried tomatoes, more spinach, less butter and less marsala. This recipe has all the ingredients for an excellent dish - the amounts of the ingredients just need to be tweeked a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I'm a horrible cook and yet this recipe was easy enough for me to pull off. My other half said this is by far the best meal I ever made him and his friend was very impressed and said this recipe is "restaurant quality" So if you want an easy receipe that tastes good and is hard to mess up -- this is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelter Island, New York, USA
Living In: Thatcher, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I was so excited to make this dish - it sounded so wonderful! I was kinda disappointed. Too much butter in the sauce...and as much as I adore wine sauces, this one had just too much bite (I used a nice pinot noir) and I added some chicken stock to cut it down. I'm not sure if I'd make this again. Alot of work for an only ok dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This recipe is very very good. My husband love it. Although he didn't like the mushrooms. I served it with Garlic mashed potatoes(made with whipping cream) Talk about comfort food. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Chicken Marsala

This amazing, company-worthy chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States