Chicken Marsala Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe but I did alter it a bit. I added some sauteed onions and garlic to the mushroom mixture as well as about 1t. of crushed red pepper. I found the marsala wine made the sauce a bit too sweet so I added a few splashes of balsamic vinegar and red wine vinegar to give it some edge. I served it with angel hair pasta and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OiMooi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Tasted great..I did change it. I boiled half a box of whole wheat penne, cooked it, drained, and drizzled olive oil and parmesean cheese. I used this as a serving base to the dish, with the chicken and sauce poured on top. Excellent. Also..I placed the chicken back into the sauce mixture and cooked it all together for 5 minutes at the end. This made the chicken taste fabulous. I used frozen chicken tenderloin strips and did not defrost or pound them. Just coated in flour and proceeded as usual with the recipe. I used half the butter and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was very good. I thought the Marsala taste was kind of weak, but it might have just been the brand I was using. I added red pepper flakes and a lot of garlic. I also added onions and used more spinach than the recipe called for. I love how healthy this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Fairman Hamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was SOOOOOO good! We used 3/4 cup Marsala and 1/4 cup sherry. Also used more sun dried tomatoes, baby bellas, and 1/2 bag of spinach. Will probably saute some diced onions with this the next time. Served over garlic mashed potatoes. Even yummier the next day for leftovers since the sauce soaked into the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was a very delicious dish, but I used this recipe more as a guideline. Like others, I also used less butter, about 3-4 tablespoons. I used more spinach than called for and I added a yellow bell pepper I needed to use up, which added some more color. I cooked the vegetables in a separate pan from the chicken so everything would be ready at the same time, and I think this helped to avoid the brown color others complained about. I also added some wine (I didn't have Marsala, so I just used a white cooking wine with lemon flavor) to the chicken and used a homemade garlic olive oil. This was a huge hit and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Turtle in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Tastes exactly like something I would get at a restaurant and I am by no means an expert chef. This recipe is a keeper. I followed the suggestions of some of the reviews and used 1/2 marsala wine and 1/2 chicken stock. I also added some onions and garlic cloves. Had over angel hair pasta. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Really good. To save time, I butterflied the chicken breasts instead of pounding them. Instead of 3/4 c butter I used two tablespoons with two tablespoons olive oil to saute the mushrooms, sundried tomatoes, and spinach. I sauteed a couple of chopped garlic cloves in the butter/oil before I added the rest of the ingredients. I thought that 1 cup of marsala wine would have been overwhelming so I used 1/2 cup with 1/2 cup chicken broth. We really enjoyed this! I served over spaghetti aglia olio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPinky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I love marsalas and I love to do new things with them, so this was right up my alley. I used a dry marsala and my homemade sundried tomatoes, so this dish was slightly acidic (the result of my ingredients) - I fixed this by adding half a teaspoon of brown sugar. I also love the sauce so much I made about 1/2 more, by adding chicken stock and another splash of marsala - this gave me enough sauce to drench the rice! If you are using dry sun-dried tomatoes don't forget to soak them for 15 minutes in hot water, and if you are using oil packed sun-dried tomatoes don't forget to drain them. In the future I would likely add a clove of garlic and some thinly sliced onion to the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Excellent twist on an old favorite!! I made this as the recipe was written and it was great! I will try again. I served this with angel hair pasta that I cooked with the remainder of the sun dried tomato, poured in some olive oil tossed with garlic for a complete meal!!! Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was an easy, absolutely delicious recipe - I was looking for a veal recipe but I found this and substituted veal for the chicken. Served it with whole wheat pasta and asparagus. Will definitely make it again - pretty and tasty enough for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanineyBeaney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States