Chicken Marsala Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Excellent! My only ingredient changes were to add two cloves of minced garlic to the sauce and I used a lot more spinach - about 3 cups worth - to add more veggies. I slightly altered the cooking method by returning the chicken to the pan with the sauce just before adding the spinach, to give the chicken a little more flavor from the sauce. This was an excellent dish - I do think it needs the garlic, but all that depends on your preference. Thanks, Shanou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Excellent and soooooo easy to make! Served it over mashed potatoes. Thanks for sharing. DH said it is better than the olive gardens....now that is high praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is very peculiar. I believe there is great potential with all of my favourite ingredients. Somehow it was missing something and I will have to figure it out. I cut back on a lot of the ingredients for two reasons. I was only making it for two and I just felt that some things, like the butter, were just too much. I did add extra baby spinach and could even have probably added more. My tomatoes were oil packed, I reduced to 1/2 cup. I added the Marsala to the tomatoes to measure 1 cup. Felt it was plent. Next time will reduce the tomatoes even more. I agree with another review in that it wasn't colourful but that was not a distraction; the baby spinach made up for it. I was short on the mushrooms, my fault. Will check my ingredients more carefully next time. All in all good, but needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I don't care for sun dried tomatoes so I left them out but the addition of spinach was inspired. I do wish there was more and "saucier" sauce (for pasta). I tried adding about a cup of the salted pasta cooking water (a quick and easy sauce stretcher and thickener and one of the most useful cooking tips I've ever gotten) and letting it simmer for a bit but it still wasn't quite the consistency or amount I was wanting. Still very tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindyBeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Onawa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
The chicken was fantastic. The sauce was pretty good. The recipe needs several cloves of minced garlic, sauteed with the mushrooms before adding the other ingredients for the sauce. About 1/2 c. chicken broth so that there is some sauce left after the marsala wine reduces. Also, i would cut back in the sun-dried tomatoes ALOT. And i would dice them. They have a strong flavor (i used oil packed) and they were too much and too big. I might even add a good slurry of cream or half and half next time to mellow out some of the bright acidic flavor. Finally, don't bother making this if you don't have a decent bottle of marsala. Don't get the "cooking wine"...go to the wine department of your grocery store and get the real thing (it doesn't necessarily have to be expensive though - $7-10 is still fine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I had to use white wine, I used a good chardonay which I had available, let me tell you it was great. I made this for a baby shower and had people looking for me through out the day to get the receipe. One guest compared it to a 5 star restaurant she eats at, said mine had more flavor. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Delicious, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I thought this was delightful!! I loved it!! DH wasn't that crazy about it, but that's ok. Will probably make it again. Served with the mashed potatoes and went perfectly. I ate it for breakfast the next morning..that good! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
WOW! Everyone loved this. Four really picky kids had THIRDS! I used asparagus because I did not have spinach, and I used I can't believe it's not butter instead of butter. My sun-dried tomatoes came packed in olive oil so I drained them and used the oil from there to cook in. I think this may be the most praised meal I've ever made :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Wonderful recipe with lots of flavor! I will be adding this to my dinner rotation for meals to impress. I did add some garlic and a splash of heavy cream. Thanks for a great recipe that everyone in my house enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States