Chicken Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I just made this last night for the 1st time, and it was very good! I followed some of the other's advice & doubled the liquid measures, but will triple it next time to have enough for the linguine. I also got nervous that the mushroom sauce was too watery, but after about 8-10 mins of simmering, it thickened up quite nicely! My husband & 4 kids loved it, and so I will surely be making this again! PS, I also cut the chickens in 1/2 for easier cooking. Don't be afraid to add your own seasonings into the flour mixture to kick up the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
DO NOT USE CHEAP MARSALA!!! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen V,LMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graniteville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
For heaven's sake... DON'T use cooking wine. If you wouldn't drink it, you shouldn't cook with it. You can buy a decent Marsala for under $10. I use Conti-Royale. The next day I use the leftover Marsala to make a killer French Onion Soup. Fresh mushrooms and FRESH basil really make this dish pop, and I always add a couple cloves of minced garlic and a few tablespoons of finely diced onion with the mushrooms. I've also played with the sauce and served it over pork and beef, switching it up with red wine, white wine, roasted peppers, and sliced onions. So easy to dress up dinner with a quick wine sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Titusville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Perfect recipe! The changes I made were minor, as I let the mushrooms saute in 1 tbs of butter along with minced garlic, pepper, 1 tsp of soy sauce, and thyme for an extra 5 minutes. Other than that, just a wonderful recipe overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Delicious flavor, but the recipe instructions are a little misleading. After adding the wine, it should simmer longer than 2 minutes, otherwise the alcohol doesn't cook off and it tastes too boozy. Marsala can be strong, so it needs time to settle in with the rest of the flavors. Like the other reviewers, I doubled the sauce. There's enough for the chicken, but we wanted extra to put over angel hair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Doubled everything to feed our small crowd and it was gobbled up in no time. Having grown up with Dad preparing this meal (a NYC fireman, need I say more?) I never quite learned how to duplicate his amazing rendition . . . this recipe comes darn close. Got lots of compliments and reqeusts to put this in our list of "must haves". 5 stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This recipe was fast to prepare and so easy. Was well received by my husband and teenage son. Husband said it was just as good as a Fine Resturant. Served with egg noodles and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Great! I used golden mushroom soup instead of chicken broth. I also sauted shallots and garlic with the mushrooms. I served over mashed potatoes with scallions. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Arlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jax
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
We didn't really care for the sauce, very strong wine flavor even after simmering it for a long time. We usually like wine sauces, so I guess Marsala wine just isn't a favorite for us. My son loved the chicken without the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was good. A little boozy-tasting for me, even after cooking for a while, so I mellowed it with a little chicken broth at the end, and it turned out fine. My husband is a big Marsala fan and he really loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Marsala

This amazing, company-worthy chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States