Chicken Mango Salsa Salad with Chipotle Lime Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I am the submitter of this recipe. It is one of my all-time favorite recipes. I created this the day after a fajita dinner with mango salsa. So the salsa was pre made and the bell peppers were already chopped. So it was only a matter of assembly. It is a great way to use leftovers. It tastes great with leftover rotisserie chicken, fajita chicken or blackened chicken. In Texas there is a chain of grocery stores that makes a great mango salsa and also sells a package of pre-chopped three color peppers that can be used as a short-cut. Either from scratch or using short-cuts the salad is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Pretty darn good recipe. Definitely worth making again. I recommend using Heirloom tomatoes instead of Roma. I also recommend getting the freshest, juiciest mango you can and then, lastly, I recommend using red onion, but I bet green onion works well, too. By the way, in an effort to save fat and calories, I used chicken broth instead of olive oil for the dressing and skipped the sugar, and I didn't miss a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Wow, this salad tastes great and is so tropical - but gets 4 stars for being time consuming and expensive to make! I changed a few things up, but kept most ingredients the same. I made the mango salsa as the recipe stated, and cooked the chicken breast with citrus pepper seasoning. Instead of the dressing recipe, I substituted Newman's Own Light Lime vinaigrette. I still mixed up the chipotle spice mixture, but sprinkled a little of it over the top of the salad before pouring on the dressing. Last, I used a head of lettuce and mixed that with Salad Savoy for some crunch, instead of the spinach & coleslaw mix. I only used red bell peppers instead of all 3 colors (because of the cost). It is a pretty impressive dish to serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Amazing salad, lots of flavor. Takes lots of work but worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenifaOHjenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
AMAZING!!! Must have. I now use the salad dressing for other salads as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I thought this was very good and healthy. I did chop all the veggies the day before to save time. Grilled the chicken and it was delish! Also, it didn't specify the type of onion so I used red and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly - it has a wonderful medly of flavors. Next time I may chop up and add some iceberg lettuce just to give it a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Definitely took longer than 30 mins. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Delicious blend of flavors! It pleased a crowd of 7 and we were all full. I added more lime juice to the salsa and dressing to thin them out a bit. I had forgotten to thaw my chicken, so I use canned and this was still a big satisfying salad. Vidalia onion in this made the salsa's only bite be from the jalapenos. Will definetly make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hikermrsblood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
It was time consuming, but it was delicious! If you prepare the mango salsa ahead of time, it doesn't take long to put together. It makes 6 really generous servings. I love the mix of fresh veggies! The dressing and mango salsa flavors complement each other nicely. I sprinkled some Mrs. Dash chipotle flavor on two chicken breasts before cooking and dicing. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States