Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I wanted to comment on this recipe and some tips to make it authentic and give it that restaurant touch. The recipe itself is fairly good . The only thing I would add to make it a bit more authentic are as follows: 1/4 cup of finely ground cashews (unsalted). These should be used as a thickner and not corn starch. Indian recipes or sauces never use corn starch. For richer gravies we use ground almond or cashews and heavy cream or yogurt. 1/4 cup of heavy cream (substitute it in place of half and half) Finally if you are a true Indian curry lover and love Chicken Makhani you should buy some fenugreek(called methi - pronounced "Mei" "thi") seeds. You only use 1/4 tsp of these (they are very bitter) and grind them. Then add them to the curry when you add your other dry spices. The cashew and fenugreek is what gives Chicken makhani it's authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I am an Indian native looking for an Americanized version of this dish for a friend who is a little intimidated by Indian food. I gave this recipe a try, and it is almost there. First, I used fresh minced ginger and garlic, but had to triple the amount. That made a huge difference. I noticed that many reviewers said the recipe is missing something. I think that something is coriander. Most Makhani dishes have a cumin/coriander combination which is missing from this recipe. I added a little ground coriander and the dish was great. Perfect for a new Indian cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
904 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I haven't made this recipe yet, but am looking forward to it. But I wanted to put a word in about ginger/garlic paste. You don't have to buy this at the store -- an easy way to do this is to put equal amounts of ginger and garlic in the food processor and grind them up. They will naturally form a paste. Most Indian recipes have some variation of this -- common ones are a ginger/garlic/onion paste, or a ginger/garlic/onion/lime paste (try marinating chicken in this and roasting it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
463 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This dish is SO good, my hubby requests it often. Even though I modified the recipe to make it healthier, I still gave 5 stars because the original tastes good too. My changes: I followed others' advice and added ground cashews instead of cornstarch. The nuts make ALL the difference. To make it healthier, I used smartbalance light spread instead of butter. *HUGE TIME SAVER: Instead of cooking the sauce first and then the chicken, have them both going at the same time. By the time the sauce is finished, the chicken is browned and ready to be combined with the sauce. ** UPDATE** I substituted fat free buttermilk for the half&half, yogurt, and lemon (cuts way down on the fat and ingredients). While the sauce was simmering, I ground the cashews in a blender and then added the sauce (minus the bay leaf) to the blender to puree all the onion pieces and cashews into a smooth and creamy sauce. Otherwise, you'll end up with small bits of onion and nuts - not bad, but better smooth. I then poured the sauce onto the chicken and simmered with the bay leaf until cooked. Other lower fat options for half&half are light cream and nonfat evaporated milk, but I liked the nonfat buttermilk the best because it did not separate when heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This is an excellent recipe, however, the first time we tried it, we decided the chicken needed to be marinated first. The sauce was good, but the chicken (we used chicken breast) was a bit chewy. I use the marinade in the other Butter Chicken recipe by Vijar Bhaardwaj (15 minutes in the lemon juice, chili powder and salt and 3-4 hrs in the drained yogurt and spices marinade). The result is phenomenal! In place of the full-fat half and half, I use Land of Lakes Non-fat Half and Half. It does not affect the taste. I've also used stewed tomatoes in place of the tomato puree. A good side dish is Gobi Aloo (Indian-stype Cauliflower with Potatoes) by Shahzadi, also found on this website. Note: Use chopped tomato and coconut milk to make this recipe less dry. I served both at a dinner party for 14 and they were a hit, with many requests for the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was absolutely delicious! My Pakistani in-laws are quite picky when it comes to traditional food, but this one is a new favorite! I made the following adjustments: Added 1 tbsp butter to the peanut oil, used 4 tbsp butter rather than 2, substituted 1/2 tsp ground ginger powder & 3 cloves crushed garlic for ginger/garlic paste, omitted salt & pepper, added breast meat pieces, substituted whole milk for half & half, used 1 full tsp cayenne pepper for chicken, doubled cornstarch (but not water) to thicken sauce, and garnished with fresh, chopped corriander. The 5-minute prep time is unreasonable. It took me about 30 minutes to prep and 1 hour to cook (including 20 mins of simmering to let sauce thicken and white rice, which is best served with this dish). Also, this only served 3 adults in my family, so I highly recommend doubling it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Tastes just like the dish I love at our favorite Indian restaurant. I make it low carb by using 1/2 cup tomato paste in place of the tomato puree so it thickens without the cornstarch. I also eliminate the water. I add thinly sliced almonds or chopped pistachios also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
Wow! Finally a delicious Indian dish that doesn't take overnight marinating and tons of obscure ingredients. I didn't have any fresh ginger, so I used half crushed garlic and a pinch of ground ginger and this was dynamite! Have all the prep work done (chopping measuring, etc) before you heat the oil and you will be able to finish this dish in no time. My hubbie even loved it and he is not big on Indian food. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Took a lot longer than the stated 5 minutes, but definitely worth it. Instead of the ginger-garlic paste I used 4 mammoth-sized garlic cloves and almost a Tbsp of ground ginger. I used cream instead of half and half, and didn't have to put in any cornstarch as a result. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This turned out good - not quite restaurant quality, but I was pretty satisfied with the result. I think more masala/seasoning should be added to the chicken, and the whole dish should simmer for longer than what the recipe calls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 762) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States