Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is awesome! Made it for family and friends and everyone loved it! Made is exactly as the recipe said (x4!!)... fed 14 of us and had plenty of leftovers. Didn't have ginger-garlic paste so just used half ginger and half garlic. Will definitly be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayeltee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I doubled the amount of ginger garlic paste, added cumin and replaced 1/4 cup of the half and half with heavy cream. I didn't need the cornstarch and didn't add any ground nuts because my husband is allergic. I also added 1/4 tsp of ground fenugreek seeds thanks to a suggestion here. It was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Delicious! Butter chicken is one of my favorite Indian dishes and I love its creaminess and full flavor. I've made this recipe twice, with a few small tweaks, and have loved it both times. I use fresh ginger and 1 clove of garlic (grated) instead of the pre-made paste, though if you're in a bind you can also use ginger and garlic powder instead. The flavors won't be as deep, but it works. Also, instead of yogurt and half and half I have used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream, which adds enough thickness to the sauce that it doesn't need cornstarch. I haven't tried many versions of Butter Chicken, but this is a recipe I believe I will come back to over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra Hrušková

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Fantastic! I have tried I don't know how many butter chicken recipes and they never quite hit this mark - but this one DID!! Thanks for the great hints from everyone. I used the recipe pretty much as it - only adding in 1/4 teas of Methi (Fenugreek to the spice fry) and 1 teas of Coriander ground. I didn't have a shallot, so I used 1/2 an onion instead. I also added in the 1/4 of a cup of ground cashew nuts, instead of the cornflour and water. I also used full cream - 1 cup and a 1/4 cup of yoghurt. These things really made it work. Really really yummy. Definitely restaurant quality. Thanks so much. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I have made this recipe many times and my family and friends love it! I made my own tomato puree in my food processor and made my own ginger/garlic paste and it always is so YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pantera nera

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This Recipe is really good. I normally use fat-free for both the yogurt and the half/half. I also have done this with both dark meat and white meat. I personally prefer the white meat. Also makes it a little healthier. I like that this recipe is adjustable. I am not a huge fan of cumin but I love my food spicy so I adjust it just a little every time. I have only tried Indian Food a few times, and this was the first I ever tried to make myself. Obviously, not a good judge of authenticity, but it is a yummy dish nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Used lowfat coconut milk and fat free greek yogurt. The yogurt curdled slightly, even though I added it at the end. The taste was excellent though. Oh, I also added a little bit of cornstarch to thicken up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Too many mods required to make it good. Just OK, had lots left over. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Absolutely love this recipe!! It was so easy and fast to make. My family loved it! This will definitely be a regular part of my meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States