Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
For my first attempt EVER at making any kind of Indian cuisine I must say this was AMAZING! I did follow the advice of both AMIBOULD and YAKUTA. My husband loved the dish and while cooking it my dogs would not leave the kitchen hoping for something to drop. I will defiantly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This Butter Chicken turned out very badly. It tasted more like a tomato sauce. The sour cream didn't blend well. And it wasn't thick enough. There's another recipe on the site call "Easy Indian Butter Chicken" that tastes great when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I've just finished making this. It has turned out to be delicious after initially thinking it would be a disaster. I had forgotten to buy butter and peanut oil. I used instead olive oil spread :O and it didn't have a bad effect. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Devon, England, U.K.
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This recipe came out perfect! I didn't even need to add the cornstarch. I chopped the onion, garlic and ginger finely in a food processor which made the sauce nice and thick. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
The first time I made this recipe, the gravy was loved wayy more than the chicken - the common complaint was that the chicken seemed a little too flavour-less. The next time I made the dish, I marinated the chicken as follows: "1 tbsp ginger-garlic paste, 1/2 tsp red chilli powder, 1 tsp garam masala, 1-2 tbsp lemon juice, 3/4 cup yoghurt, 4 tbsp vegetable oil, 2 tbsps finely chopped fresh cilantro, salt to taste. Combine all of the above, add the chicken, and mix until evenly coated. Refrigerate overnight or for a minimum of 4 hours. Grill or shallow fry chicken until tender and fully cooked.' Once I had prepared the chicken, I followed this recipe exactly as is. Marinating the chicken made this dish delicious beyond words and was much loved by all who tasted it. I realise, that marinating the chicken changes up the recipe quite a bit, but not marinating the chicken just didn't give it the oomph it required. Once marinated, this recipe becomes a 5 star recipe. Thank you Mitchman21 for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I tried this recipe and it tastes great! As soon as I added the tomato puree and yogurt the color turned a rich golden orange shade. I finally know how to make Indian sauce! My only advise is to watch out for the Tumeric seasoning. Do not spill any on the counter because it will turn your kitchen counter yellow. It took bleach to get it out. This yellow stays on for days. Other than that this is a great recipe and my husband loved it! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was a good Indian recipe that is very filling. I'd recommend the following to spice it up even more: 1. Triple the ginger garlic paste 2. Quadruple the cayenne pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tod E. Lewis, P.E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Wow! Loved this recipe! I did make a few changes though.. I used more yogurt and less 1/2 and 1/2 to make it healthier. I also added some cardamom seeds to give it more of an authentic Indian kick. I passed on the cornstarch and used grated up cashews and almonds to thicken the sauce. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I recently tried Indian cuisine for the first time at an authentic Indian restaurant. I ordered the Chicken Makhani and was thoroughly impressed with its taste. I thought to my self, “I have to replicate this”. So I searched All Recipes for the best rated Chicken Makhani recipe and came across this recipe. I can say for a fact that this recipe is absolutely SPOT ON for its flavor and consistency. I followed the recipe to the letter and discovered that the spices called for here create a very natural heat. The sauce starts our creamy and delicious and the heat just creeps right up on you. I used Garam Masala for the first time and completely fell in love with its flavors. The spice is not at all overpowering to the palette. Excellent recipe. I WILL be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States