Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
We have a favorite restaurant we visit where I enjoy Chicken Makhani. I made this recipe tonight. I have to say that this recipe is almost 100% exact to what I enjoy at my favorite Indian Restaurant! If I were to change anything, I'd make the chicken a bit more flavorful (maybe marinate overnight prior to use). We're adding this to our regulars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This dish was great! My fist attempt at Indian cooking. Simple and delicious. I didnt have garlic-ginger paste, so I added minced garlic and ginger powder, still tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
Great, Great, Great! I used Fat-Free Half & Half and Fat-Free Yogurt. Still great! I also used cubed white-meat chicken, minced garlic from a jar, and ginger powder (to replace the garlic/ginger paste). It was still awesome! My "not too sure about it" wife, loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I haven't made this recipe yet, but am looking forward to it. But I wanted to put a word in about ginger/garlic paste. You don't have to buy this at the store -- an easy way to do this is to put equal amounts of ginger and garlic in the food processor and grind them up. They will naturally form a paste. Most Indian recipes have some variation of this -- common ones are a ginger/garlic/onion paste, or a ginger/garlic/onion/lime paste (try marinating chicken in this and roasting it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
444 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Excellent! Very fragrant and tasty. Served with basmati rice and popadums. Thanx, Mitch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
This was delicious, and my first foray into Indian cooking, which I have wanted to do for a while. Only problem I had was the called-for ingredient "ginger garlic paste." Not knowing what it really was, I just ground up some garlic and ginger in the food processor. Served with basmati rice and steamed spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This was incredible. I couldn't believe how wonderful it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Easy to prepare. I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and yogurt. Turned out creamy, smooth and yummy. I didn't have ginger garlic paste so subbed fresh garlic and ginger juice. Excellent. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticadmin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This was an excellent and easy recipe. My husband raved about it and my two year old cleaned her plate! Now I can't wait to impress my friends with some exotic Indian cuisine! I couldn't find the garlic-ginger paste, so I minced them fresh and made a "paste" with my pestil and mortar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
This was so delicious. My moroccan husband and two children cleaned their plates. This is so delicious. My husband would have liked a lot more "spice" so if you like spice be sure and kick up the red pepper a few notches but it was great as was for the kids. I was really impressed with this. Did I mention this was so delicious?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States