Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Excellent! Very fragrant and tasty. Served with basmati rice and popadums. Thanx, Mitch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
This was delicious, and my first foray into Indian cooking, which I have wanted to do for a while. Only problem I had was the called-for ingredient "ginger garlic paste." Not knowing what it really was, I just ground up some garlic and ginger in the food processor. Served with basmati rice and steamed spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
This is a GREAT recipe! Very easy and very good. I didn't change a thing and it came out perfect. I had quite a hard time finding the ginger garlic paste, but finally located it in the produce section near some stir fry mixes and sauces. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
Wow! Finally a delicious Indian dish that doesn't take overnight marinating and tons of obscure ingredients. I didn't have any fresh ginger, so I used half crushed garlic and a pinch of ground ginger and this was dynamite! Have all the prep work done (chopping measuring, etc) before you heat the oil and you will be able to finish this dish in no time. My hubbie even loved it and he is not big on Indian food. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
I didn't care for this but my husband liked it. Think I'll stick with my local Indian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I have eaten this dish in many Indian Restaraunts. It's one of my favorites. This, however was not good. The chili powder is totally out of place. IF I were to try this again, I would omit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
Great, Great, Great! I used Fat-Free Half & Half and Fat-Free Yogurt. Still great! I also used cubed white-meat chicken, minced garlic from a jar, and ginger powder (to replace the garlic/ginger paste). It was still awesome! My "not too sure about it" wife, loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This was incredible. I couldn't believe how wonderful it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
We have a favorite restaurant we visit where I enjoy Chicken Makhani. I made this recipe tonight. I have to say that this recipe is almost 100% exact to what I enjoy at my favorite Indian Restaurant! If I were to change anything, I'd make the chicken a bit more flavorful (maybe marinate overnight prior to use). We're adding this to our regulars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This dish was great! My fist attempt at Indian cooking. Simple and delicious. I didnt have garlic-ginger paste, so I added minced garlic and ginger powder, still tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States