Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
My husband is from India and I am from Colombia. This is my first time making this dish for him and he loved it. It also got the stamp of approval from my eldest daughter who loves indian food. I did not use any hot peppers however, because of my youngest child. It was still very tasty. My mother-in-law will be proud of me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I've been eating butter chicken made by the Indian family I work for for years. I also get it every time I visit an Indian restaurant. I decided I'd finally try this on my own and was a little disappointed. I made this exactly like the recipe calls for: with ginger garlic paste I bought from my local Indian mart, and the end result pretty bland. In fact, it didn't taste authentic or even close to Indian, it tasted like an creamy red pasta sauce for an Italian dish! I'm sure I didn't do anything wrong. So I tripled the amount of garlic ginger paste and added more and more garam masala until it tasted Indian. Which it finally did, but only with my alterations. In the end, it tasted pretty good but nothing like the butter chicken I'm used to. I think that I will follow other people's suggestions next time: with real ginger, garlic, cashew, and fenugreek.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This recipe is so good! Our kids would eat it every night if they could! I don't bother with two pans. I just brown the chicken with the dry spices first then throw in the rest of the ingredients. I also use vegetable oil instead of peanut oil and fresh ginger and garlic instead of the paste. It's easy and comes out great! We serve this with paratha that we buy frozen at our nearby Indian Grocery store. Add a salad and it is a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Best Indian chicken! I used whipping cream instead of yogurt because that's what I had. Oh my God it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dockgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I make this in the crockpot and it always comes out delicious! No need for all the sauteing. I put chicken breasts in the pot along with many of the other ingredients and cook on low for 5-6 hours. I dice the chicken up before serving. I add the lemon, butter, yogurt and half-and-half at the end too, about 15 minutes before serving, so the flavors remain fresh. Serve this with homemade naan, if your feeling adventurous, and a side of rice and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cook2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHARGURL
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Love this recipe. Doesn't taste like restaurant quality but for a first time trying my hand at Indian food this came out perfect. My husband liked it and he doesn't like anything with a tomato base in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: West Columbia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
After browning the chicken, I added the garam masala and cayenne. I let the spices heat up and toast a little, which made the cayenne come to life! Great way to get more heat! I followed another reviewer's idea to use tomato paste instead of puree + water + cornstarch. Served this over steamed cauliflower for a low carb dinner. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
It is rather delicious, but it seemed to be missing something to take it over the edge. Not sure what that would be... Maybe something slightly smoky or rich or a different curry powder? Overall still good curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
YUM!! Hubby made this using the Easy Garam Marsala recipe also on this site. He made a few adjustments, using 1/2 an onion insteaad of 1/4, 2 t of chili powder, 1/2 t cayenne pepper and a 15 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the 1 cup of tomato puree and omitted the water. I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Excellent recipe. After eating this throughout India, I never thought I could duplicate all the wonderful food I had there. Thank you for posting this! Is was easy and tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States