Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
For everyone who recommends using crushed cashews. Can I substitute for almond flour? If so how much?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
We liked this. Made as written except used fresh garlic and ginger. I should have added more cayenne. It lacked the heat I wanted. The sauce was delish. Went back for seconds of the sauce and just dipped my parantha in it. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Much easier than it looks and the result was very good. I used a chicken cube in place of salt and the other heart damagers stayed the same. This was a definite hit with everyone invited for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I just cooked this tonight. I am Indian, but I don't have time to cook this the traditional way, so I was looking for a recipe that is a little quicker. This recipe turned out to be just that. I made a couple of adjustments. I added a teaspoon of coriander, and instead of cornstarch and water I used ground cashews mixed with 2 tablespoons of melted butter. It turned out rich and creamy, so I was really pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Tasted odd... almost like a burnt/bitter taste and had a sandy texture. Too many spices was probably the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I love this recipe! My Boyfriend lived in China for a long time and had mentioned that the one thing he missed the most was getting chicken Makhani from a indian family there... I was so excited to make this for him because i have made this recipe so many times before and recommended it to many of my friends. My boyfriend is head over heels for this recipe! He said it tasted even better then what he got back in China- I guess thats the key to a mans heart! ANYWAYS- I modify the recipe very slightly putting more garlic and ginger and putting that in my food processer to get a nice texture... i also put my onions in there too... laziness... possibly?... I Also marinade my chicken for a few hours beforehand in a mixture of cayenne, salt, pepper, garam masala and a very little bit of chicken broth and tomatoe juice... so the spices can adhere and really penitrate the meat... I also used buttercream instead of Half and half - which didnt turn out horribly but i wish i would of bought the half and half...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Delicious and easy to make. Served with rice and some naan to soak up the sauce. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This is the best of all of the Butter Chicken recipes I've tried. I did follow suggestions and left out the corn starch. Instead I took about 1/2 cup of the sauce and pureed it with 1/2 c. roasted cashews and then stirred that back into the sauce and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieCooks

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
My whole family liked it. I Loved it. I was so proud to have prepared such a good Indian dish for my family. I might double the amount of Garam masala, just to give it more of a kick. This recipe is a keeper, and I will be making it again soon! Best recipe (Hands Down) that I have made in a while. Thanks very much for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I tried this recipe last night and it was delicious....I was thrilled with the results. To make it low carb I used tomato paste instead of tomato puree, used 1/4 cup of full cream, no yoghurt or half and half. I did not add water but instead used the juice that had cooked out of the chicken. I did not add cornstarch. The tomato paste was thick enough to make the consistency perfect. This is an amazing recipe and probably the most adventurous recipe I have ever tried in my life...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States