Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Delicious! Butter chicken is one of my favorite Indian dishes and I love its creaminess and full flavor. I've made this recipe twice, with a few small tweaks, and have loved it both times. I use fresh ginger and 1 clove of garlic (grated) instead of the pre-made paste, though if you're in a bind you can also use ginger and garlic powder instead. The flavors won't be as deep, but it works. Also, instead of yogurt and half and half I have used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream, which adds enough thickness to the sauce that it doesn't need cornstarch. I haven't tried many versions of Butter Chicken, but this is a recipe I believe I will come back to over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra Hrušková

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Fantastic! I have tried I don't know how many butter chicken recipes and they never quite hit this mark - but this one DID!! Thanks for the great hints from everyone. I used the recipe pretty much as it - only adding in 1/4 teas of Methi (Fenugreek to the spice fry) and 1 teas of Coriander ground. I didn't have a shallot, so I used 1/2 an onion instead. I also added in the 1/4 of a cup of ground cashew nuts, instead of the cornflour and water. I also used full cream - 1 cup and a 1/4 cup of yoghurt. These things really made it work. Really really yummy. Definitely restaurant quality. Thanks so much. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I have made this recipe many times and my family and friends love it! I made my own tomato puree in my food processor and made my own ginger/garlic paste and it always is so YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pantera nera

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This Recipe is really good. I normally use fat-free for both the yogurt and the half/half. I also have done this with both dark meat and white meat. I personally prefer the white meat. Also makes it a little healthier. I like that this recipe is adjustable. I am not a huge fan of cumin but I love my food spicy so I adjust it just a little every time. I have only tried Indian Food a few times, and this was the first I ever tried to make myself. Obviously, not a good judge of authenticity, but it is a yummy dish nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Used lowfat coconut milk and fat free greek yogurt. The yogurt curdled slightly, even though I added it at the end. The taste was excellent though. Oh, I also added a little bit of cornstarch to thicken up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Too many mods required to make it good. Just OK, had lots left over. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Absolutely love this recipe!! It was so easy and fast to make. My family loved it! This will definitely be a regular part of my meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I love this recipe. I've made it at least 10 times, and it is always looked forward to in our house. I usually up the butter to 3 tbsp, and add a tsp of coriander to the spices. You will not be sorry making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Love love love this! So close to anything we have had in a restaurant. I always read the review first to see what might need to be tweaked. I added more tomato purée and more half and half. I didn't have ginger/garlic paste so I used powders, Probably 2-3T each. We like it a little more tomato--y. I also added a little salt to taste. Served it with homemade naan- my first ever bread to make using yeast. Came out a little tough but still delicious. I cant wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 752) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States