Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This wasn't bad, I just didn't think it was good. It didn't quite have enough spice and it didn't have a savory flavor either. I think maybe there was too much yogurt and that drowned out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe, my family of 5 loved it! Also made rice & homemade garlic Naan bread that paired with it nicely. I made the recipe as is & only exchanged olive oil for peanut oil b/c I did not have peanut oil. Will make again & can't wait to eat my leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I thought this recipe was great, HOWEVER I did change it. I read all the other reviews and made the following changes: tripled the ginger/garlic paste and also made it fresh, doubled the butter, doubled all the spices (except for chili powder) and put in an extra pinch or two of them as well. I used heavy cream instead of half and half, and I marinated my chicken in yogurt instead, and at the end added 1/4 cup ground cashew instead of water+corn starch. I also added a pinch of ground coriander and garnished with cilantro. With these changes I thought it was as good as my favorite indian restaurants version. But, in our favorite Indian restaurant, their Chicken makhani has almonds and raisins in it too! I was wondering why none of the recipes online call for that? Interesting! Overall, I loved my version of the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I followed the advice of a review on here and used ground cashews to thicken the curry. This tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
this was just alright
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I eat East Indian cuisine on almost a daily basis. I have tried many recipes online and often find that they are lacking in flavour and that they do not taste authentic. This recipe however... It is nothing short of phenomenal. I did not use the cornstarch (I don't think that cornstarch is a traditional ingredient), once the sauce cooked down I thought it had a very nice consistency so I let it be. I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was yummy. I used marinade from shish tawook grilled chicken because I'm a fan of that recipe and had 2 containers of greek yogurt to use up. I used fresh garlic and ginger and also probably added more than 1 cup of tomato sauce, then a whole single serving contanier of plain greek yogurt and then added 1/2 and 1/2 until I was pleased with consistency (didn't use cornstarch slurry). Served with rice and naan. Also I grilled one bell pepper and onion while I grilled the chicken and sliced the charred veggies and added to sauce with chicken. I was going to serve seperate but my husband likes everything mixed together, and it was a nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef_G
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This recipe is very easy to make and delicious! I added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper (because we love our Indian food to be very hot!), 1 tsp of grounded coriander, and doubled the amount of ginger garlic. I'll make this again, undoubtedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is awesome! Made it for family and friends and everyone loved it! Made is exactly as the recipe said (x4!!)... fed 14 of us and had plenty of leftovers. Didn't have ginger-garlic paste so just used half ginger and half garlic. Will definitly be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayeltee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I doubled the amount of ginger garlic paste, added cumin and replaced 1/4 cup of the half and half with heavy cream. I didn't need the cornstarch and didn't add any ground nuts because my husband is allergic. I also added 1/4 tsp of ground fenugreek seeds thanks to a suggestion here. It was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 752) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States