Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I marinated the chicken in lemon juice and then in yogurt with tandoori spice. I think next time I would Brown the chicken in the oven. I also added coriander and fenugreek leaves to the sauce in addition to the other spices. Was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was really good, loved the Garam Marsala. I used 1/2 cup of paste in place of the purée. Also cut back a bit on chili powder and cayenne, as kids don't like spicy food. Also left out the water and cornstarch...as it was thick enough. Also added a bit of milk to make it a bit creamier. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Awesome recipe. VERY close to our local Indian restaurant version. I added some unsalted cashews to the sauce as it simmered to mimic other versions I've had. This one is definitely going into regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Delicious! I had a serious craving for butter chicken, and this recipe satisfied it! I did a little testing with the sauce to see what tasted best to thicken it... ground cashews all the way!I also added the fenugreek seeds recommended by one reviewer. I can't say with any certainty whether or not they made the recipe any better, but I went to the bulk store to buy a small amount, and once I smelled them, I immediately thought of authentic Indian cuisine. I'm going to assume that these must have improved things. That being said, I rated this recipe a 4 star, as written. With the ground cashews and fenugreek, it was 5 star deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purple_inferno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Very good and its so quick, it is well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Fantastic! Couldn't find the ginger-garlic paste so used fresh garlic cloves and fresh ground gingerroot. Couldn't have been happier, great flavor, texture, and aromas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Delicious! It's a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sofianvrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Oh, my goodness, yes! It tastes just like the dish I had with my fiance at a truly Indian restaurant. We added more masala than the recipe called for to get the flavor right, and it is better if you put the sauce in the blender to smooth out the onions. Best dish I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Gilman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I didn't find any garam masala, so I just used about a teaspoon of curry and a pinch of cumin. Also, I added fresh ginger and fresh garlic instead of ginger&garlic paste. My boyfriend and I liked it very much and I'll most certainly cook it on a regular basis from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States