Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
It is rather delicious, but it seemed to be missing something to take it over the edge. Not sure what that would be... Maybe something slightly smoky or rich or a different curry powder? Overall still good curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
YUM!! Hubby made this using the Easy Garam Marsala recipe also on this site. He made a few adjustments, using 1/2 an onion insteaad of 1/4, 2 t of chili powder, 1/2 t cayenne pepper and a 15 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the 1 cup of tomato puree and omitted the water. I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Excellent recipe. After eating this throughout India, I never thought I could duplicate all the wonderful food I had there. Thank you for posting this! Is was easy and tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I followed a lot of the reviews and made some slight adjustments. I added more garlic, garam marsala and more tomato puree. This is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdriggs13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Wow - this is so flavorful and true comfort food. I added extra cayenne pepper and the heat was just perfect. So quick to make and it tasted as if it had simmered for a long time. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This wasn't bad, I just didn't think it was good. It didn't quite have enough spice and it didn't have a savory flavor either. I think maybe there was too much yogurt and that drowned out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe, my family of 5 loved it! Also made rice & homemade garlic Naan bread that paired with it nicely. I made the recipe as is & only exchanged olive oil for peanut oil b/c I did not have peanut oil. Will make again & can't wait to eat my leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I thought this recipe was great, HOWEVER I did change it. I read all the other reviews and made the following changes: tripled the ginger/garlic paste and also made it fresh, doubled the butter, doubled all the spices (except for chili powder) and put in an extra pinch or two of them as well. I used heavy cream instead of half and half, and I marinated my chicken in yogurt instead, and at the end added 1/4 cup ground cashew instead of water+corn starch. I also added a pinch of ground coriander and garnished with cilantro. With these changes I thought it was as good as my favorite indian restaurants version. But, in our favorite Indian restaurant, their Chicken makhani has almonds and raisins in it too! I was wondering why none of the recipes online call for that? Interesting! Overall, I loved my version of the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I followed the advice of a review on here and used ground cashews to thicken the curry. This tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
this was just alright
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 777) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States